PDA

View Full Version : DeNovo assembly using pacBio data

krittika.sasmal
01-17-2012, 12:52 AM
Hi,
I am new to PacBio. I have visited the pacBio site. However could not clearly understand what files are generated by the primary analysis or base calling. Is it the CLR or CCS files? how do we actually go about generating the filtered read files. If I am interested to use the SMRT pipe, what input does it take?

Also, can anybody please suggest a de novo assembler that works well with PacBio data?:confused:

SillyPoint
01-17-2012, 07:00 AM
There's a high-level how-to (http://www.pacbiodevnet.com/Learn/How-To/E-coli-O104-Assembly) on pacbiodevnet, describing how they used a combination of consensus and long reads to do de novo assembly of an E.coli strain.

As I understand it, the consensus reads are generated during the primary analysis step, which occurs on the PacBio server. The main product of that step is the *.bas.h5 file, which includes basecalls, several quality scores, and limited kinetics info. At this point, adapters have been identified, and reads can be split into sub-reads.

The secondary analysis, running on your cluster, does filtering of subreads based on productivity, high-quality region length and score, to produce a filtered_subreads.fasta file. It also removes control reads (although those are still prersent in filtered_subreads.fasta -- I think), and then performs an alignment to the reference provided in the protocol to produce a BAM file and various other stuff.

That's my view-from-40000-feet, anyway. Perhaps a helpful PacBio person will wander by and provide a bit more detail.

krobison
01-17-2012, 08:29 AM
MIRA (http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/mira-assembler/index.php?title=Main_Page) and Celera Assembler (http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/wgs-assembler/index.php?title=Main_Page) are two other assemblers which support de novo assembly using PacBio, and perhaps more importantly mixing PacBio with other technologies.

jbingham