Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mappability File

Hi Im kind of new in linux and I am trying to create a Mappability File using the executables and instructions that are part of peakseq that are here http://archive.gersteinlab.org/proj/...lity_Map/Code/ Finally when I do "python compile.py" I get this /bin/sh: 1: chr2hash: not found
    /bin/sh: 1: oligoFindPLFFile: not found
    /bin/sh: 1: mergeOligoCounts: not found

I know this has to do with put them in my PATH but I dont understand what does that mean. Could someone please explain that to me and what should I do to solve this problem?

Thanks I really appreciate your time

PATH is an environment variable. When you run a program, it was looked for in your current directory and in PATH. PATH contains other directories where runnable programs can be found. You can see the value of it with the following command: echo $PATH.
    You can add new directory temporary with this:
    export PATH=$PATH:/yourdirectory

Comment

Thanks I tried what you kindly answered, but I got the same message for the three executables...do you have any idea why isnt it working?

Again thank you

Comment

See this page for help with adding new directories to PATH variable: http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/unix-linux-adding-path/

You appear to be using sh/bash shell.

Did you do the following per "TiborNagy's" directions (change to the directory where you issued the python command):

1. Type "pwd" (without quotes). This should print the full directory path
        2. Type "export PATH=$PATH:copy_and_paste_the_path_string_printed_after_step_1" (without quotes, replace the correct string)
        3. Try the python command again.

Are you still getting errors after doing the above?
        Last edited by GenoMax; 09-26-2012, 10:16 AM.

Comment

Creating Mappability File