SEQanswers

SEQanswers (http://seqanswers.com/forums/index.php)
-   Bioinformatics (http://seqanswers.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   HTSeq-count large proportion of mapped reads with no_feature (http://seqanswers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=36153)

edm1 11-25-2013 12:56 PM

HTSeq-count large proportion of mapped reads with no_feature

Hi,
I am fairly new to RNA-Seq analysis and hoped someone could help me diagnose the reason why I have such a low proportion of reads mapped to features with my current method.

The experiment:
Code:

- Were looking at the retina in developing mice
- I have two conditions (wild-type vs mutant), each with 4 biological replicates (8 in total).
- RNA prepared using Illumina TruSeq stranded kit. Ribo-Zero Deplete techneque.
- Using a pair-end 2 x 100bp HiSeq reads. Approximately 40 million pairs per replicate.

The methods:
Code:

- Trimmed low quality regions/reads using Trimmomatic.
- Using TopHat2 to map reads to UCSC mm10 reference genome available on the tophat website.
  - --no-novel-juncs and larger --mate-inner-dist arguments
  - Example numbers from one replicate:
    - 92.8% overall mapping rate
    - 30,244,035 aligned pairs; of these:
      - 9.4% have multiple alignments
      - 1.9% are discordant alignments
    - 87.6% concordant pair alignment rate
    - These numbers seem pretty good to me.
- Sorted the acccepted_hits.bam file by read name using 'samtools sort -n'
- Converted bam to sam using 'samtools view'
- Extracting feature read counts using HTSeq-count and the gtf annotation file also from UCSC mm10.
  - Using default arguments (method=union and stranded=yes)
  - Example numbers:
    - successfull feature = 505,622
    - no feature = 29,039,281
    - ambiguous feature = 2525
    - non unique feature = 10,519,556
    - Success rate = 1.26%