No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RNA prep for Multiplexed- Strand Specific RNA seq

Hi ALL

My lab is looking to do some RNA seq- and wants to look at both polyA and non-polyA RNA changes downstream of different cytokine signals.

While we will be looking at exon arrays, we are interested in also performing RNA-seq to look for novel transcripts, lcRNA, intron containing/pre-processed RNAs etc.

I am a total newbie to RNA seq- my former life was spent in the affy world...

I am looking to do some RNA seq- Want to analyze on Illumina HISeq- and to do some multiplexing to save money if possible- which I assume should be possible on the HiSeq instrument- We need strand specific sequencing- and presumably want paired end reads.

While I have lots of experience working with RNA for Affy/ Q-PCR etc.- I am a bit flummoxed by the variety of approaches for RNA prep for RNA seq- and want to look at both polyA and non-polyA RNA to broaden our discovery-

Based on the Levin paper (Nat Methods 2010)- I am assuming the best way to go is either dUTP or Illuminia kit- but I am wondering if anyone has any experience with other RNA preps prior to dUTP or Illuminia; specifically

1) using Nugen upstream for RNA prep for subsequent dUTP protocols?
    2) copared Nugen vs dUTP directly? - My understanding of the Nugen multiplex label is that stand specificity is maintained in a similar manner to the Illuminia kits- no?
    3) compared Nugen vs Illumina kits (I am rather fond of kits only for the relative ease of standardization across different lab members- have found in past life that so much of RNA work is dependent on the "hands" of the preparer- so want to minimize that influence)
    4) multiplexing with standard dUTP protocol- ie best primers to use- any experience or papers out there?