SEQanswers

SEQanswers (http://seqanswers.com/forums/index.php)
-   Bioinformatics (http://seqanswers.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Mapping multiple FASTQ data types using BWA? (http://seqanswers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=39590)

Genomics101 01-02-2014 07:33 AM

Mapping multiple FASTQ data types using BWA?
 
Greetings!

I plan to do mapping using multiple types of Illumina FASTQ files for the same sample.

I have one set of FASTQs made from a library with 400bp inserts, 100bp reads (trimmed for quality), and processed with the 1.5 pipeline; the second set is 600bp inserts, 250bp reads (trimmed for quality), and processed with the 1.9 pipeline. Because of the trimming process, I have paired-end and single-end FASTQs for each sample as well.

As a result I have 8 FASTQs for mapping, e.g. -

Insert size 400:
Sample1_Illumina_1.5_100bp_R1.fastq.pe
Sample1_Illumina_1.5_100bp_R2.fastq.pe
Sample1_Illumina_1.5_100bp_R1.fastq.se
Sample1_Illumina_1.5_100bp_R2.fastq.se

Insert size 600:
Sample1_Illumina_1.9_250bp_R1.fastq.pe
Sample1_Illumina_1.9_250bp_R2.fastq.pe
Sample1_Illumina_1.9_250bp_R1.fastq.se
Sample1_Illumina_1.9_250bp_R2.fastq.se

I have only been mapping with the 100bp/1.5 so far, using BWA, but reading it looks like I should use BWA-MEM if I am using the longer reads. Is it possible to map all of these together?

Thanks!

adamdeluca 01-02-2014 11:54 AM

I would map separately for each insert size, then merge the resulting bams for further analysis.

dpryan 01-02-2014 11:55 AM

No, don't map them together. Also, bwa mem doesn't support illumina 1.5.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.