Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Genomics Research Adviser and Bioinformatics Skill Trainer for almost blind student

Tutors for Linux, R, Bioconductor, Perl, Python and/or Cytoscape for yeast microarray analysis, next generation sequencing and constructing gene interaction networks

Hi

I am a visually impaired bioinformatics graduate student using microarray data for my master’s thesis aimed at deciphering the mechanism by which the yeast wild type can suppress the rise of free reactive oxygen species (ROS) induced by caloric restriction (CR) but the Atg15 and Erg6 knockout mutant cannot.

Since my remaining vision is very limited I need very high magnification. But that makes my visual field very small. Therefore I need somebody to teach me how to use these programming environments, especially for microarray analysis, next generation sequencing and constructing gene and pathway interaction networks. This is very difficult for me to figure out without assistance because Zoomtext, my magnification and text to speech software, on which I am depending because I am almost blind, has problems reading out aloud many programming related websites to me. And even those websites it can read, it can only read sequentially from left to right and then from top to bottom. Unfortunately, this way of acquiring, finding, selecting and processing new information and answering questions is too tiresome, exhausting, ineffective and especially way too time consuming for graduating with a PhD in bioinformatics before my funding runs out despite being severely limited by my visual disability. I would also need help with writing a good literature review and applying the described techniques to my own yeast Affimetrix microarray dataset because I cannot see well enough to find all relevant publications on my own.