SEQanswers

SEQanswers (http://seqanswers.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://seqanswers.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Staph Aureus and Rhodobacter (http://seqanswers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=17296)

rdeborja 02-01-2012 07:42 AM

Staph Aureus and Rhodobacter
 
Can anyone tell me if staph aureus and rhodobacter are diploid or haploid?

krobison 02-02-2012 03:21 AM

I believe all bacteria are haploid in terms of allele content.

However, in rich medium, some bacteria are replicating very rapidly, and so the chromosome will appear to be at multiple copies near the origin of replication. I think this can be seen in sequencing depth plots, but can't remember where I saw it (unless it was in original Church sequencing-by-ligation paper)

swbarnes2 02-02-2012 02:25 PM

Yeah, I don't see why bacteria wouldn't be haploid.

But that doesn't mean that every sample given to you is clonal.

ScottC 02-12-2012 10:06 PM

Yes, theoretically, one chromosome copy per cell for (most) bacteria. But, as pointed out above, it doesn't always work that way.

kant1_IC 02-20-2012 05:14 AM

If you sequence with a large cover and a huge deepth, you'll be able to see different clones.
That does not mean that your bacteria is polyploid.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.