No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ERCC Spike-In Control

Hi everyone

we're hoping to start an RNASeq run on the Illumina HiSeq SQ in the next few weeks. I recently came across the ERCC Spike-In Control, which lets you add known amounts of mRNA to your sample.. I'm interested in using the ExFold mixes, which are two mixes with different amounts of the same mRNAs.

It looks like it could be really useful! I've had a look at the "Synthetic spike-in standards for RNA-seq experiments" paper, but I have little background in bioinformatics... what they've done seems too complicated for me to repeat.. Does any one know a program which can take advantage of spike-in controls (eg. for normalisation, checking quality of the run)?

Any advice will be greatly appreciated

Thanks in advance,
    Suthira

Hi,

I am going to start an RNASeq run on the Illumina HiSeq SQ with 50 bases paired-end sequencing in the next few weeks. And I also came across the ERCC ExFold Spike-In Control. I was very excited to see your post online, could you please share with me your experience with the ERCC control? Is there any caveats when combining them into RNA sample in making the cDNA library and how well this control performs? Any advise will be highly appreciated. Thank you in advance!

Frazzled

Comment

Ion torrent has a plugin that automatically analyses ERCC controls. No idea how well it works. I have also written some scripts to analyse ERCC controls from illumina data, and so has this guy:

Basic ERCC spikein analysis. Contribute to metalhelix/spikein_analysis development by creating an account on GitHub.

Again no idea how well it works.