Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Linux and Bioinformatics

Hi all, I am sure there have been many posts in the past like this. I am new in bioinformatics and am doing target sequencing and would love to learn all the tools I need, but all of them are in linux which I have no idea to begin with. Is it possible to learn linux and bioinformatic tools at the same time. If yes, appreciate your valuable suggestions.
    Thanks.
    John.

Hi John,

Did you already choose and install a distro, or are you first awaiting some answers here? In that case, the choice for a distro is kind of personal. I'm a Fedora person (have been since 2006 I think, got slightly annoyed with XP) but you'll meet others who'd rather work with Ubuntu, Mint, or whatever.

There's a nice project going on here called BioLinux. It's based on Ubuntu and has tons of bioinformatics tools packed with it. I have no idea how good it is, maybe someone else knows?

I would like to suggest learning a bit about Linux first. I see a lot of Win users get stuck because they do not understand how Linux works. They try the Win approach, which doesn't work. An example: in Win, you may sometimes want to log in to your desktop environment as administrator to get stuff done. You don't do this in Linux. Most distros won't even allow it and in Ubuntu the root account is even locked by default. Instead, you use sudo from the commandline.

Then I found this nice tut for those who have absolutely NO experience with the commandline. It also explains the file system organisation and has a section on MAN pages.

Once you understand how to use the shell, learning how to use the bioinformatics tools should be easy. You can then also start learning shell scripting with bash, sed and awk. They provide very powerful means to edit the large NGS text files.

Have fun!

Comment

Hi John,