Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Genomic DNA shearing with Covaris E220

I am doing a ChIP experiment and doing the genomic DNA (RAW cell line, mouse monocytes) shearing using the Covaris E220. I need my DNA fragments to be between 500-1000 bps, but 200-700 bps will be ok too.
    I first started doing a time-curve using the Covaris truChIP protocol:
    duty cycle: 2%
    peak incident power: 105 watts
    cycles per burst: 200
    temp: 4-8
    volume: 130 ul (with covaris microtubes).
    time points: 4,8,12 min.

My buffer is from the FastChIP protocol (which has been used before in our lab, and with the same type of cells and was successful), which contains: 150mM NaCl, 50mM Tris-HCl (pH 7.5), 5 mM EDTA, NP-40 (0.5%), Triton X-100 (1%). this buffer is used for lysis and shearing.

I get fragments between 1000-3000 bps.
    I am totally new to Covaris and don't know what to change first in order to get smaller fragments. Should I increase the time? Or will changing the duty cycle first be more effective (and to what %)?
    I could use all the help I can get.
    Attached is the gel image (from left to right: 4,8,12 min. Ladder- bold from up to down: 3000,1031,500 bps).

Thank you!
    Attached Files

Take a look at this:

Comment

Thank you.
      How come the treatment time is 50/80 sec? In the time course Covaris recommends its 2-12 min...

Comment

Just by looking at the parameter... it is because you use just 2% duty cycles, whereas they use 5% for the desired size of 500bp. I am not familiar with what you mean Covaris recommends.

I haven't worked with the E220, only S2 but it's all similar. When I want to change the shearing size I usually just play with the time duration.

Shorter time -> bigger fragments
        Longer time -> shorter fragments

I go in steps of 5-10s and that mostly gives me satisfying results. Additionally you can change the duty cycles as well, but this change is more drastic.

Comment