SEQanswers

SEQanswers (http://seqanswers.com/forums/index.php)
-   Bioinformatics (http://seqanswers.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   BWA aligner: no install instructions ? (http://seqanswers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=39592)

Jonathan87 01-02-2014 11:41 AM

BWA aligner: no install instructions ?
 
I have downloaded bwa and unpacked it via tar xfvj

What do I have to do now?

I see files named COPYING, README.md and NEWS. None of them contains install instructions. There must be instructions but I cannot seem to find them ?

adamdeluca 01-02-2014 11:47 AM

use the "make" command

GenoMax 01-02-2014 11:55 AM

What OS are you using?

BWA is supplied as a "source only" program. You will need to compile the source code (which is where "make" comes into play) for your OS.

Jonathan87 01-02-2014 11:59 AM

Thank you adamdeluca!

But seriously, where are the instructions ? How can you publish software without giving the slightest hint of how to install it.

Might be obvious for non-newbie linux users but in my eyes that's kind of ignorant not even dropping 2 sentences of how to install :/

I have already seen configure commands and others so I was afraid I would cause more problems than I already had if I was too hasty.

Well thanks again for the help!

Edit: I'm using ubuntu, the make command is what had to be done!

dpryan 01-02-2014 12:33 PM

It's the first few lines of the README.md file:

Code:

git clone https://github.com/lh3/bwa.git
cd bwa; make

Though, to be fair, those aren't exactly the best instructions I've ever read (especially since you can skip the git... portion)!

zee 01-03-2014 12:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jonathan87 (Post 128612)
Thank you adamdeluca!

But seriously, where are the instructions ? How can you publish software without giving the slightest hint of how to install it.

Might be obvious for non-newbie linux users but in my eyes that's kind of ignorant not even dropping 2 sentences of how to install :/

I have already seen configure commands and others so I was afraid I would cause more problems than I already had if I was too hasty.

Well thanks again for the help!

Edit: I'm using ubuntu, the make command is what had to be done!

Welcome to the world of OSS.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.