No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help towards closing a genome?

Hello All,

I am a graduate student trying to learn NGS as I wrap up my PhD. That said, we have sequenced our pet bacterial genome (Illumina HISeq 2500 PE 101 BP) and I have so far managed to produce what to me looks like a good assembly. Reads were cleaned up with trimmomatic and assembled using Ray-2.3.1 with a default kmer of 31. The output is as follows

Contigs >= 100 nt
    Number: 28
    Total length: 4963730
    Average: 177276
    N50: 246178
    Median: 162206
    Largest: 771798
    Contigs >= 500 nt
    Number: 28
    Total length: 4963730
    Average: 177276
    N50: 246178
    Median: 162206
    Largest: 771798
    Scaffolds >= 100 nt
    Number: 22
    Total length: 4965242
    Average: 225692
    N50: 338745
    Median: 115189
    Largest: 1908686
    Scaffolds >= 500 nt
    Number: 22
    Total length: 4965242
    Average: 225692
    N50: 338745
    Median: 115189
    Largest: 1908686

The total length is in good agreement with other sequenced genomes of the same species (ranging 4.8-5.0 MB). But I am now beyond what anyone at my institute has experience with. I would like to go as far as possible towards closing the genome, but I am unsure what next steps to take. Can anyone provide some input as to what next logical steps I should take? Thank you very much!

First ask the question why do you want/need a finished genome? How much time and money can you spend on getting one?

If you only care about one or two regions of interest, it may be cost effective to do it the old fashioned way (PCR and "Sanger" capillary sequencing to close a gaps).

Comment

Thanks for the reply!

I had assumed a closed, or mostly closed genome would make downstream applications much easier. We plan to do ChIP-Seq and possibly RNA-Seq with this bacterium later on, and figured having a mostly closed genome would be best.