No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• n00b Smart-seq2 questions

Hi there, I'm new to Smart-seq and have a couple questions:

1. Can the dT(30)VN primer be substituted with dT(20)VN, dT(23)VN, etc.?
    2. How does Superscript IV compare to SSII or SSIII?
    3. Is KAPA HiFi HotStart still the best option for preamplification?

Finally a very basic question...
    If I am doing targeted amplification of a single gene, can I just use my custom primers for PCR after cDNA preamp and skip all the tagmentation steps? I just want to see whether a heterozygous mouse is picking one allele and silencing the other. I don't need the high resolution of NGS, but instead will TOPO clone these single amplicons and pick enough representative clones to decide whether the alleles are being equally expressed or not.

Thanks for your patience with my n00b self!

1. Sure, you can swap in different length RT primers without a noticeable impact on performance
    2. SSII is definitely better than SSIII, but I don't know about IV
    3. I personally like Takara's SeqAmp, but I used to work there and am biased

A followup question. Why are you adding the cost/complexity of preamplification when gene specific RT-PCR works at the single cell level? Banking the cDNA or assessing multiple genes per cell?

Also, are you sure you don't need NGS level resolution for when you're describing? Single cell methods are going to have lots of allelic dropouts that have nothing to do with actual biological regulation, just good ol' sampling noise, especially for anything that isn't highly expressed. The cost of the number of cells, TOPO cloning, and Sanger reactions required to get a remotely robust answer is going to approach the cost of an NGS run real fast (especially if you use targeted amplicons).