SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Site News > Site Announcements



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
where to find coordinates for promter, splice site, splice regulatory site? cliff Bioinformatics 13 11-18-2013 06:23 PM
Solutions for multiplexing/barcoding memento General 5 12-05-2012 08:43 AM
Understanding PAML output according to site/branch/branch-site models used mdeloger Bioinformatics 1 11-15-2012 04:21 AM
Innovative Solutions vs AMPure suefo 454 Pyrosequencing 2 10-14-2011 06:22 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-26-2014, 05:07 PM   #1
ECO
--Site Admin--
 
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,352
Default Site uptime issues, solutions.

Hi all,

Wanted to post about the spotty service we've had the past few days and last week. Seems like we have been under some sort of sporadic attacks (from small network subranges) which spikes load making the site inaccessible.

If the site is down or responding very slowly, typically I will tweet from @SEQanswers, but as sequencing is a global activity, sometimes I'm asleep or in a meeting and don't tweet instantly.

With some help from my host and a security provider I hope I have addressed the issue in a robust way. If the site is down or slow, and I'm near my phone, I'll know about it.

Thanks for your patience.
ECO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 07:09 AM   #2
KellerMac
Member
 
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 11
Default Thank you

Ah I was wondering what was going on with the site! Glad it's not just me! I wanted to take this opportunity to THANK YOU for running the forum it has been a great help to me over the years. There are some great community members on this forum!
KellerMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 05:56 PM   #3
ECO
--Site Admin--
 
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,352
Default

Thanks KellerMac! It's been a fun almost seven years! =]
ECO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 01:42 PM   #4
biocomputer
Member
 
Location: Canada

Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 62
Default

When I tried to access seqanswers.com today I got this page:

http://i.imgur.com/fQsIgtF.png

Is that supposed to happen and/or is it related to the issues described above?

Last edited by biocomputer; 09-18-2014 at 09:21 AM.
biocomputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 08:33 AM   #5
ECO
--Site Admin--
 
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biocomputer View Post
When I tried to access seqanswers.com today I got this page:

http://i.imgur.com/fQsIgtF.png

Is that supposed to happen and/or is it related to the issues described above?
Sorry just saw this. Yes that's normal if you're coming from a subnet that is identified as a "threat"...it prevents DDOS-style abuse which is typically the root of most problems we have. If it's not back to normal let me know and i'll investigate.
ECO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO