Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NextBrowse: Web-based genomics visualization and BAM hosting tool.

Hi everyone,

This is my first post here. My name is Phillip and I'm a Masters student in computer science. I've been working on a new genomics visualization tool and BAM file hosting solution, NextBrowse, for the past few months. NextBrowse allows users to host BAM files and visualize both BAM and GFF Files. Visualization is done through CSS, HTML, and JavaScript. We currently require users to use the Google Chrom browser due to the specificity of the CSS, but we hope to extend it in the future to all browsers. I'd love to get everyones feedback here of what they like, don't like, etc.

I've created a guest account for those that wish to try it out along with access to one BAM file for testing visualization.

nextbrowse.vbi.vt.edu

username: [email protected]
    password: guest123

When logged in, simply click on the Browser link in the top right of the page and then click on the large Launch NextBrowse button.

The top reference sequence of the browser is the reference sequence data of the currently viewed reference organism. The track area of the reference sequence displays where you are in the actual reference organism along with chromosomes.

To add a track of data, move your mouse over to the right side of the screen and a side bar will expand for you to add a BAM file track.

The track has 4 different levels of zoom, from nucleotide level of BAM reads up to the entire genome. When you zoom in, you zoom in too the current left side of the track. That is, if the track is currently at position YHet:1-5000 and you zoom in, you will be visualizing data from YHet:1-200. Tracks can also be searched individually or all at once. Tracks can add, remove, and search bookmark regions.