SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > Sample Prep / Library Generation



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TruSeq Stranded Total RNA + NEB Barcodes?? RickC7 RNA Sequencing 2 05-17-2017 05:01 AM
SMARTER Pico RNA-seq kit - new ribo-depletion technique luc Sample Prep / Library Generation 10 04-17-2016 10:06 PM
SMARTer Ultra low RNA Kit Primers are found in sequencing data and Tophat questions TEFA Sample Prep / Library Generation 12 12-02-2015 07:48 AM
SMarter Low RNA Input Kit vanillasky Sample Prep / Library Generation 5 12-01-2015 05:09 AM
TruSeq Stranded Total RNA final sample storage Qualiphar Sample Prep / Library Generation 1 08-18-2015 05:41 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2018, 05:05 AM   #1
GTatiana
Junior Member
 
Location: Asia

Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1
Default SMARTer Stranded Total RNA kit

We are working with SMARTerŪ Stranded Total RNA-Seq Kit v2 - Pico Input Mammalian (Takara). When we prepared libraries for the first time, results was acceptable – we get libraries from control RNA (total input amount 0,25 ng/μl ) and from LCM tissue (track A-C in attached file) with one exception – low yield (approx. 0,8 ng/μl in all samples). However, all our next attempts to create libraries were unsuccessful and we cannot find the reason. We took into account all recommendations about sample storage, preventing contamination and all general requirements. Before work with RNA we treated workflow with RNaseZap, before work with cDNA – DNAZap. Kit didn’t work even when we used only control RNA with different input amount (0,75 ng/μl, 10 ng/μl and even 20 ng/μl). In attached file, I demonstrate TapeStation electrophoresis from all stages of our experiment. Seems to be, problems appear in the beginning of protocol, after stage of first-strand cDNA synthesis and PCR1 (where is no necessary amplified products on the electrophoresis).
Is anybody face with the same problem?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1sx0...ew?usp=sharing

Many thanks


Last edited by GTatiana; 03-25-2018 at 09:04 PM.
GTatiana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 02:49 AM   #2
JamesHrastelj
Junior Member
 
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK

Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
Default ?Over-dried AMPure beads?

Hi,

I have been using the same library prep kit. Although it's difficult to be sure exactly what has caused your problem, I know that one of the most sensitive parts of the protocol is the AMPure bead purification, so close attention should be paid to getting that part exactly correct. For example, if the bead pellet becomes overdried then the yield is significantly affected. The pellet should be covered with RNase free water as soon as the very first tiny crack appears in the surface of the pellet.

The other possibility that springs to mind is RNase contaminated reagents (e.g. water).

Good luck!
JamesHrastelj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 10:43 PM   #3
Dorota
Junior Member
 
Location: The Netherlands

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 9
Default

Is it possible that your original RNA sample is degraded to begin with ? Or was the new control material a different RNA with low likelihood of being degraded?
Dorota is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO