SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Total beginner: how do I download human NGS expression data ? tuku3 General 3 10-23-2011 07:35 PM
how to download genome annotation file pfzhu Bioinformatics 1 09-26-2011 12:24 AM
UCSC genome browser download ashwatha Bioinformatics 3 07-25-2011 08:58 PM
Download human gene sequences ritzriya Bioinformatics 6 03-24-2011 06:05 AM
Download promoter sequence db for human genome? ewilbanks Bioinformatics 3 10-27-2009 10:53 AM

Old 08-02-2013, 02:43 PM   #1
fghd

Default Download Human Genome

I want to download assembled human genome from nbci site to calculate some statistics on it. I found GRCh37 in the link below
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/assembly...imary_Assembly

which include all chromosome. but I don't know which format should be used in my calculation (Genbak or fasta) and how can I access the data since it load all chromosome data on the webpage when I click on Fasta. Is there any way to save this data in a file instead of load?

Thanks
fghd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 02:56 PM   #2
vivek_
Bioinformatician

You can download/save the fasta files from the FTP site

ftp://ftp.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/genbank/g...mosomes/FASTA/
vivek_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 03:20 PM   #3
fghd

Thanks for your response.
Could you please explain how you reach to these files (for my future use) because this link (ftp://ftp.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/genbank/g...ns/GRCh37.p13/) has the same title with different contetnt.

and is it correct to go in each chromosome page from this link (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/nuccore/...7?report=fasta) and let it load the fasta format data on the web page and then copy and paste them in a notepad file?

as I am new in Bioinformatics, could you pelase explain What is chr.rm.out files? or do u know any more document to help me in better understanding these files and how I can analyze them.
Thanks