No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• sequence alignment

Hi all,
    I want to align some read data in fasta format. i use bowtie short read aligner. but before i align them, i need a refrence sequence. im new in bioinformatics and searched about refrence seq and didnt find anything useful about why we need refrence seq for read alignment.
    please help me on understanding that and how i can download required refrence sequences.

thank you all. justin
    Last edited by biouser; 08-14-2012, 11:46 AM.

You need something to align against, that is the purpose of the reference sequence. What organism is your sequencing from? That will pretty much answer the question of what to download.

Comment

there is a fasta file containing 15million reads which is 454 sequences of Human HapMap, downloaded from genomic paired-end library from ncbi.

Comment

So, you have a bunch of reads from a human and you want to know where they map. For that you would need a reference human genome sequence. You could use the one from NCBI or the 1000 genome project (there are probably others, I actually don't know off-hand if the NCBI reference differs from that of the 1000 genomes project as I don't do any human sequencing).

Comment

in NCBI ftp there is 2 kinds of files, some are in .fa format and other in .rm.out
          which one is used for refrence sequence?
          i got output from bowtie as below :

# reads processed: 15281579
          # reads with at least one reported alignment: 610764 (4.00%)
          # reads that failed to align: 14670815 (96.00%)
          Reported 610764 alignments to 1 output stream(s)

what is the meaning of this output report? does it mean that 4% of reads belong to chromosome 2 that i used as refrence sequnce?

Comment

You'll want the fa (fasta format) files. The rm.out files are from repeat masker.

Comment

Thank you dpryan ,
              and what about second question? The Bowtie report?

Comment