No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shoulder in Truseq ChIP sample preparation libraries

Hey,

I am a newbie who has been trying to build ChIP libraries using the TruSeq ChIP Sample preparation kit.
    After doing protocol optimization we decided to use MinElute columns for pre-PCR purification instead of using Ampure beads XP. After the PCR, we did a Ampure XP clean-up to remove adapter dimers with the recommended ratio of 1:1.

For the Gel size selection, we are using the E-Gel Size-Select Gels to select fragments between 250-300bp of size.

However, now we are having another type of problems, which is the reason of this post. The libraries that we prepared using this method show a shoulder before the peak and the peak is of a much higher weight than the expected one.

Does anyone know the reason for these shoulders?
    Do they affect sequencing quality?
    Is it possible to eliminate them?

I used the search function and couldn't find a satisfactory answer.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Rosmano; 01-14-2013, 05:43 AM.

The first issue is that the y-adapters of TruSeq do not run true to size on an E-gel. We were off by anywhere from 100 to 300 bases.

We now use a robot for the size selection but I would suggest either find a Pippin Prep instrument or look for double sided SPRI bead for size selection. (It uses the AMPure beads at differing concentrations to remove High MW then low MW)

Comment

I wouldn't mind to try that, but if possible in the short term I would like to understand what issues may this shoulder on samples 2 and 4 cause.
      Why it may be happening and ways to avoid while trying again an E-gel based purification.

I don't have access to a Pippin prep. I could try the double sided SPRI method but is it as tight as gel size selection?
      Last edited by Rosmano; 01-11-2013, 05:07 PM.

Comment

So, I suppose that these Bioanalyzer curves don't have any issue?