SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > General

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calling Quiver from within a Python script verheytb Pacific Biosciences 2 05-28-2015 08:39 AM
R script to Python conversion bvk Bioinformatics 9 05-18-2015 01:35 AM
How would I go about calling BWA from a python script? prs321 Bioinformatics 6 07-15-2013 07:48 AM
python script modification of LSC0.2.4 ? arthur.yxt Bioinformatics 0 06-11-2013 01:32 PM
gatk python script m_elena_bioinfo Bioinformatics 7 11-20-2011 06:40 AM

Old 11-10-2016, 08:59 AM   #1
mavadhani

Default Python script for bowtie2 alignment

Hello All!

I am new to coding and am trying to write a python script to analyze a bunch of fastq files from RNASeq analysis. I am using the subprocess module to call bowtie2 in order to index the genome that is in fasta format. That works just fine. But I am stuck in the next step which is using bowtie2 to align the unpaired short reads to the genome. I know I am using the correct command as it works at the terminal generating a .sam file. But my python code is not working. Here are some of the ones I have tried--

#process = subprocess.call (['bowtie2_align', indexfiles, fastqFile1, Outputfile])
#process = subprocess.Popen(['bowtie2_align', stdin= indexfile, fastqFile1, stdout=Outputfile])

#process2 = subprocess.call(["bowtie2_align" (-x indexfile, -U fastqFile1, -S 'Outputfile.sam')],shell=True)

align = 'bowtie2_align' -x cellvibrio_index -U fastqFile1 -S initial_aligns.sam'

I would really appreciate any help/suggestions to fix this code.

Thanks,
-M
mavadhani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2016, 11:15 AM   #2
dpryan
Devon Ryan

It'd be something like:

Code:
subprocess.call(["bowtie2", "-x", indexBaseName, "-U", fastqFile1, "S", "Outpufile.sam"])