No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Preprocessing needed for RNA-Seq data

Hi,

I am new to the RNA-Seq data analysis and I have a very basic question.

I need to analyze some RNA-Seq data (from Illumina).
    Are there specific steps to take before aligning the reads and proceed with the analysis? In other words, are there adapters to remove or other type of trimming/filtering necessary?

Thanks in advance!

Usually, no. Unless you do small RNA or microRNA, your fragments will be longer than the reads so that there is no risk that you have sequenced into the adapter at the opposite end, hence no need for trimming.

Many people trim of bad quality reads at the end. However, if you use an aligner that is aware of base-call qualities, this is not necessary, as the aligner will know to disregard or down-weight bad-quality base calls. The aligner will flag alignments which are dubious due to bad base-call quality by indicating a low alignment quality. I would hence filter after alignment, based on alignment quality.

If your aligner is not aware of quality scores you should fiter beforehands, of course.

Simon

Comment

You might want to run FastQC to double check the quality of your reads. Just a thought.

EDIT: FastQC Link. http://www.bioinformatics.bbsrc.ac.uk/projects/fastqc/
      Last edited by Lee Sam; 08-18-2010, 04:52 PM.

Comment

Hello everybody,

I come back to this topic to discuss several questions concerning the preprocessing of RNA-Seq reads. I have not found so much information, so sorry if I address to already asked questions.