Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best tools for SNP calling with resequenced mutant?

Hi

I am a total newby when it comes to working with Next-Gen data and only have limited bioinformatics skills, so please bear with me...

About the Project:

I have various bacterial strain with increased thermal tolerance, these were generated through several rounds of random mutagenesis (chemical mutagens & UV irradiation) and selective growth. Now the first of these (monoclonal) strains has been sequenced using Iontorrent PGM (314 Chip), with the rest to follow shortly. The run itself had some technical issues and will be repeated, this (and the sequencing of the other strains) is on hold until the issues can be resolved.
    I do however have about 6x coverage (20X was expected) which I want to use to generate some preliminary results and to establish the workflow for the data analysis.

What I have tried so far:

For the first approach, reads where mapped to the wt reference with GS mapper, and SNPs then searched with samtools.
    After some tests to remove false positives based on homopolymers, I got good results using the following commands:

Code:
    samtools mpileup -d 10000 -L 1000 -Q 7 -h 50 -o 10 -e 17 -m 4 -uf Reference.fna IonTorrentContigs.bam | bcftools view -bvcg - > var-woh.raw.bcf
    bcftools view var-woh.raw.bcf | vcfutils.pl varFilter -D100 > var-woh.flt.vcf
    The output looks good and does not appear to contain false SNPs based on homopolymers. However I am not merely interested in which positions contain mutations, but in determining affected genes. So I wrote a quick perl script to parse the output file and look up which genes are affected based on position of the mutation (and also to classify them based on functionality).
    The final list contained some 280 mutations on various genes.