SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > General



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Second Strand Step - E coli Ligase? lucialucia11678 RNA Sequencing 0 03-06-2013 02:33 AM
Mapping E.coli PE reads aggp11 Bioinformatics 3 05-14-2012 09:48 AM
E coli de novo sequencing SHB General 5 10-28-2011 03:47 AM
Illumina for resequencing E. coli jkersh Illumina/Solexa 16 11-11-2010 12:05 PM
Sequencing of E. coli strains pDNA 454 Pyrosequencing 2 05-12-2010 12:45 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-08-2013, 04:12 AM   #1
mbk0asis
Member
 
Location: Korea

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 41
Default E.coli contamination?

Hi, all!

We recently ran Chip-seq and RNA-seq and got decent amount of data.
When we the raw sequences by running in NCBI blast, all the sequences from Chip-seq were aligned to E.coli genomes. However, only a few sequences were mapped on E.coli genomes.
FYI, our samples were from mouse cells.
Has anyone experienced this?
mbk0asis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 04:22 AM   #2
Richard Finney
Senior Member
 
Location: bethesda

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 700
Default

I've seen bacteria and virus sequences in data from humans. Some is probably really in the sample, some is contamination from the air.
It's certainly not unheard of.
Richard Finney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 05:02 AM   #3
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbk0asis View Post
When we the raw sequences by running in NCBI blast, all the sequences from Chip-seq were aligned to E.coli genomes. However, only a few sequences were mapped on E.coli genomes.
FYI, our samples were from mouse cells.
Has anyone experienced this?
Can you clarify if *all* sequences mapped to E. coli or only some did (what fraction of total)?

If it is the first case then you either did not get data back from your own sample or something went terribly wrong in your sample library prep.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 03:49 PM   #4
mbk0asis
Member
 
Location: Korea

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 41
Default

Sorry about late reply, GenoMax.
I tested 10 reads on blastn, and all of them were aligned to E.coli sequences.
I also tested 10 reads from another sequencing data we ran last year, and 4 out of 10 sequences were from E.coli. As Richard said, it's somewhat common to see those sequences.
Thanks!
mbk0asis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 04:56 PM   #5
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,060
Default

Have you tried to analyze the full data set? 10 sequences out of a few million hitting the E. coli genome by blast (are the hits full length identities) may not be a worrisome thing if majority of the sequences are indeed mouse. Until you are convinced otherwise, I would advise moving forward with the alignments to the mouse genome/transcriptome (and if you want to be dead certain Ecoli genome independently). See what fraction of reads align in the two comparisons.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 06:03 PM   #6
mbk0asis
Member
 
Location: Korea

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 41
Default

Thank you for the advice.
I already tried mapping with bowtie on the mouse genome, and less than 1% of raw reads (~3000 reads) were mapped on the mouse. I think I will try bowtie on Ecoli genome to see how many reads would be aligned.
I think it's most likely the Ecoli contamination.
If so, in which step during library prep, do you think that could happen?
mbk0asis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO