Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ion torrent library prep for MiSeq

Hello, I'm very new to the NGS community and was hoping to get help. Is it possible to create a DNA library using Ions 16s metagenomics kit then performing the sequencing on a MiSeq.

I am interested in the extra coverage of the 16s unit that the Ion systems promises but only have access to a MiSeq platform.

I would happily take other universal primer suggestions that can cover a broader ranges of the 16s unit that I can add barcodes and adapters to using the Nextra protocol.

Please help!

To my knowledge Ion read length is 400bp. With MiSeq you can get 2x300 paired end reads and with HiSeq V2 Rapid Chemistry 2x250. Illumin has validated a protocol: http://supportres.illumina.com/docum...15044223-b.pdf

Comment

Thanks @nucacidhunter. I'm fine to use Illumina's protocol, I was just hoping that someone has validated multilocus primers that can cover the entire 16s unit (or a large portion of) without discrimination. I'm finding some older papers that suggest some primer sequences, but I'm not sure why the method I'm envisioning is not more main stream.

Comment

I have not worked with 16S data, but I assume the data analysis could be quite difficult for multi-organism multi-amplicon experiments. I see the appeal of having one long amplicon.

Originally posted by [email protected] View Post
        Thanks @nucacidhunter. I'm fine to use Illumina's protocol, I was just hoping that someone has validated multilocus primers that can cover the entire 16s unit (or a large portion of) without discrimination. I'm finding some older papers that suggest some primer sequences, but I'm not sure why the method I'm envisioning is not more main stream.

Comment