SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > General

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
QDD, a free software to analyze microsatellites from NGS data martinjf Bioinformatics 3 07-31-2019 01:36 AM
TCGA data access mathew Bioinformatics 1 03-27-2014 10:51 AM
what is the best software to use to analyze illumina NGS data? bbsinfo Illumina/Solexa 3 08-21-2013 05:48 AM
Open access sequencing data gabbagabba General 1 04-17-2012 10:17 PM
GPU/Cluster/Server based systems for NGS PratikC Bioinformatics 17 09-15-2011 03:40 AM

Old 09-18-2013, 10:20 AM   #1
vifehe

Default is it possible to analyze NGS data without access to a server????

Hi everyone,

Currently I am not affiliated to any institution so I do not have access to any server, but I have access to some 454-NGS data which I would like to analyze to get my hands a bit on this field, as I am completely new in this.

The initial objective is to look for markers, microsats, but I thought that I could also try to do some assembling of the runs.

Can any of you give some reccomendations on computer characteristics that I should try to minimum have?? Like RAM, CPU, processor, ...

I am aware that if I finally run the analysis on a laptop or stationary computer (without access to server) it might take ages. Alternatively, does anyone know if a particular person can hire server space? and how much would that cost??

I'll be greatly thankful to any suggestions received
vifehe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 08:06 AM   #2
westerman
Rick Westerman

While I do not use it myself, several packages (including Galaxy) run on the Amazon cloud. I suggest searching this forum for AWS or Amazon.
westerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 11:56 AM   #3
SNPsaurus
Registered Vendor

Galaxy also has a public server. It can be slow for your particular analysis to move through the queue, but it should have the tools you need.

https://main.g2.bx.psu.edu/
Old 09-19-2013, 12:00 PM   #4
lh3