Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RNA seq analysis with one replicate per biological sample

Hi, I am new in the field of deep sequencing analysis and for the past two months I am struggling to understand RNA seq differential expression studies.
    I have 1 control sample and 1 sample for each of the three different experimental conditions. No technical replicates. So I guess I cannot apply some GLM approach or estimate mean and variances from the replicates.
    I chose to normalize with applying a simple linear correction after fiiting the log # of reads ( condition x vs control) and then to calculate the significance of the Differential expression by calculating a z score for each gene by using my control sample to estimate per gene mean and variance (which have practically the same values). The p values that I get are extremely low even after bonferoni correction (eg top 1000 pvalue still less 1e-100). This is quite counter intuitive for interpretation. Any other suggestions for better normalizing or studying DE?? thanks

How many genes do you expect to be differentially expressed? If that number is a small fraction of the total (say 10% - others may have better guidance and experience in this situation), you can treat your conditions as replicates to model the biological variability in fragment counts as a function of expression level. Cuffdiff (1.0 and later) and I believe both DESeq and edgeR can do this.