Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• fdr and p-values for NGS comparison ttest

Hello, I am new to NGS analysis, but that's the task I've been assigned. I have received NGS data that I am trying to decipher.

I am attempting to learn what exactly is meant by "unadjusted p-value" and "FDR" in looking at comparison ttests of genes (the comparisons are between NGS of animals treated with drug or placebo). I understand the basic concepts, but not how to functionally make use of them. Most of the values seem fairly large (well over 0.1 for p-values, in the 0.1 to 0.9 range for FDR) when looking at data sets of ~20,000 to 40,000 members. My goal here is to determine a value for each that would allow me to gate on the genes with meaningful expression differences. Is there a specific value I should use as the boundary, or some way to calculate it based on the sample size or something?

Bueller? Bueller?

Comment

Um, he's sick. My best friend's sister's boyfriend's brother's girlfriend heard from this guy who knows this kid who's going with the girl who saw Ferris pass out at 31 Flavors last night. I guess it's pretty serious.

Anyway, ignore unadjusted p-values, they're largely useless when you do multiple testing. An adjusted p-value (or FDR) threshold of 0.1 is pretty common, though there's wiggle room there.

Comment

Thanks.

Almost none of the FDRs are below 0.1 (~20 out of 20,000 genes compared). The company who did the sequencing indicates it's because we didn't have enough samples (three mice were used per group) and says we should use the unadjusted p-value instead.

I was thinking instead I would just ignore the p-values and FDR and focus on the log2FC. There were multiple group comparisons performed (drug A treated vs. vehicle, drug B vs. vehicle, drug A vs. untreated, drug B vs. untreated). So I figure if genes go up (or down) across the board, it's likely to be real. Does anyone see any problems there?