Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chip-seq protocols and chromatin prep

I am new to ChIP-seq and wanted to get an idea of what protocols are working best for everyone. I have tried the one published by Farnham et al and a variation of it using a Covaris protocol (Chromatin shearing with SDS detergent buffer). In both cases, I am getting less chromatin than what I would have expected from 10^8 U937 cells. I have never gotten back more than a 1 ug following shearing and suspect something is awry. Any thoughts? I suspect perhaps I am losing the bulk of my chromatin at one of the steps or am not getting adequate lysing of cells. Any tips on what has worked for others or tips on might be going wrong would be much appreciated.

Hi,

1. in what volume are you lysing your cells?
    2. What is your fixation time, volume?
    3. In what volume are you processing your samples on the Covaris?
    4. What is the setting you are using?
    5. Are you preparing nuclei prior to chromatin shearing?
    6. You should save the cell debris after shearing, and run a portion of it on the gel as a way to check for incomplete lysis/nuclei prep, and shearing.
    7. Which type of tubes are you using for the chromatin shearing step on the Covaris?

Would you be interested in receiving the Covaris chromatin shearing buffers from us?

Thank you

Hamid

Comment

Hi Hamid,

1. I am lysing at a concentration of 1 mL lysis buffer/1x10^7 cells
      2. My fixation time (cross-linking time) was 10 min. The volume varied but final concentration of formaldehyde was 1%.
      3. I had been mostly shearing in 0.5 mL within TC12 tubes
      4. The settings are 20% duty cycle, 8 intensity, 200 cycles/burst