SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Illumina/Solexa



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
running GATK Queue script under PBS environment? orionzhou Bioinformatics 1 12-09-2012 04:24 AM
tophat Error running running 'prep_reads' victoryhe Bioinformatics 2 10-17-2011 04:53 AM
problem running runRNA.pl in CASAVA for RNA-seq data with multiple indexes clariet Bioinformatics 0 06-06-2011 01:30 PM
Anybody interested in running OLB/Casava on Solaris? dawe Bioinformatics 13 05-19-2011 08:31 PM
Geneious Pro 5.1 Available Now! Geneious Vendor Forum 0 09-21-2010 11:42 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-24-2011, 09:28 AM   #1
westerman
Rick Westerman
 
Location: Purdue University, Indiana, USA

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,104
Default CASAVA running on PBS pro

As we probably all know, Casava can be made to run in parallel on SGE (sun grid engine). Is it possible to have it use PBS instead? The commands are similar (e.q., qsub, qstat) yet frustratingly different in the option details.

Modifying or adding to:

CASAVA/lib/CASAVA-1.7.0/perl/Casava/TaskManager

should do the trick. But if someone else has already done the modification then I would prefer to use that. BTW, Illumina support only recommends SGE and does not seem to be interested in supporting PBS.

Thanks.
westerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 01:21 PM   #2
hpcguy
Junior Member
 
Location: Ohio,USA

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Default

There are already some solutions for this for LSF. (search the forum)

I think we had a request for this here recently, I'll see what happened with it. We run torque/Moab so anything we change should be close enough for Altair PBSPro.

It's been a version or two since I looked at it, but CASAVA is really nothing more than an evil elaborate makefile wrapper that uses sgmake. Try using distmake or pmake in it's place. I suspect that will be enough to get you up and running.

hpc
hpcguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 02:21 PM   #3
dejavu2010
Member
 
Location: usa

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 21
Default

Anyone has update about this post? I have the same problem
dejavu2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 06:30 PM   #4
westerman
Rick Westerman
 
Location: Purdue University, Indiana, USA

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,104
Default

I am not using CASAVA with PBS per se. Instead I do the deconvolution on a multi-CPU node and then split up the next processing on a per-sample basis -- one sample per node.
westerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 05:27 AM   #5
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,062
Default

You should be able to get CASAVA to work with a queuing engine of your choice with some tinkering. Unfortunately you will be doing this each time a new version of pipeline is released.

Scenario to consider is if you ever run into a problem. To be clear, Illumina tech support is great and they do try to help. But if they determine that the problem is specific to your queuing system then you will need to find a solution on your own.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 08:31 AM   #6
User001
Junior Member
 
Location: AR

Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hpcguy View Post
There are already some solutions for this for LSF. (search the forum)

I think we had a request for this here recently, I'll see what happened with it. We run torque/Moab so anything we change should be close enough for Altair PBSPro.

It's been a version or two since I looked at it, but CASAVA is really nothing more than an evil elaborate makefile wrapper that uses sgmake. Try using distmake or pmake in it's place. I suspect that will be enough to get you up and running.

hpc
We're working on installing CASAVA on a cluster using a Torque/Maui scheduler. Does anyone have a good guide for this? hpcguy do you have some advice?
User001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 10:30 AM   #7
aunderwo
Junior Member
 
Location: London

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Default Torque and Casava

Hi

Did you have any success with this. We're hoping to do the same.

Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by User001 View Post
We're working on installing CASAVA on a cluster using a Torque/Maui scheduler. Does anyone have a good guide for this? hpcguy do you have some advice?
aunderwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO