SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How have you done splice site prediction on NGS data? aquinom85 Bioinformatics 2 09-14-2013 10:32 AM
orf or CDS predicted from de-novo assembled transcrits neurospora RNA Sequencing 0 09-16-2012 06:39 PM
Metatranscriptomic data(paired-end,Illumina)mapping? jojohan Illumina/Solexa 2 09-04-2012 05:59 PM
PubMed: The effect of sequencing errors on metagenomic gene prediction. Newsbot! Literature Watch 0 11-17-2009 02:10 AM
Magnetically assembled ordered arrays will speed NGS on all platforms ECO General 3 02-25-2008 03:12 AM

Old 07-03-2013, 05:21 AM   #1
someperson

Default ORF prediction in assembled NGS metagenomic/metatranscriptomic data

Hi, Sorry I'm relatively new to this and am just looking for some qualified input.
I have sequenced several metatranscriptomes using an Illumina GA system and I have assembled them using meta-velvet. Now I would like to do a reliable gene-prediction on the assembled contigs.

Basically I would use Orphelia or FragGeneScan for this, however from the respective descriptions I gather that they have been specifically designed for the Identification of coding regions in short single-reads not in assembled data. Whereas classical ORF-prediction tools like GLIMMER suppose that you have homogenic and more-or-less complete sequence data.
My data however is very heterogenic and my largest contigs are just over 2kb.

Therefore, what would be the best approach for ORF-prediction in assembled metatranscripome/metagenome-data?

Can I use Orphelia or FragGeneScan for this, or are they unreliable for datasets of highly varying sequence lengths? Do you know of any better suited tools?

EDIT: