SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BLAST+ creating custom blast database and using blast+ filtering features deniz Bioinformatics 3 07-07-2019 08:04 AM
Creating local blast+ database for mouse build 37 npatel Bioinformatics 7 03-04-2013 08:02 AM
Creating subset BLAST database nupurgupta Bioinformatics 1 06-19-2012 03:37 AM
Command line blast with remote option nupurgupta Bioinformatics 2 05-18-2012 07:47 AM
Command Line BLAST for specific genome using TAXID eatashpaz Bioinformatics 2 02-10-2012 11:18 AM

Old 01-29-2015, 12:47 AM   #1
GSviral

Default Creating a Command Line BLAST+ Database

Hey guys,

I am relatively new to linux and command line and have a basic understanding of the basic commands in regards to the terminal.

What I want to do is set up local BLAST+ databases so I can BLAST hundreds of sequences against the blastx or blastn databases.

So far I have downloaded the latest databases, extracted them via gunzip, and copied them into my usr/local/bin folder. I believe this allows me to run BLAST applications from anywhere.

I do not know where to go next. Do I have to format the blastx and blastn databases before I can blast my sequences? If so can any of you please point me in the right direction in how to do this?

Any help is appreciated, thank you very much!

Ryan.
GSviral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 04:23 AM   #2
GenoMax

As long as you downloaded the pre-formatted databases from (ftp://ftp.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/blast/db/) you can use them directly with blast+. You have also got the executables for your OS: ftp://ftp.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/blast/exe...last+/LATEST/?

Follow the command line manual for blast to start your analysis: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK1763/