SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BLAST+ creating custom blast database and using blast+ filtering features deniz Bioinformatics 3 07-07-2019 09:04 AM
BLAST+ vs BLASTALL (legacy BLAST) Symphysodon Bioinformatics 4 10-25-2011 03:52 PM
BLAST database error - when changing to new BLAST+ local program biobio Bioinformatics 4 06-15-2011 06:20 AM
BLAT or BLAST: output SNPs between reference and query? bbimber Bioinformatics 1 02-23-2010 11:59 AM
Viewers for Blast and Blat alignments dgacquer Bioinformatics 4 01-09-2010 09:33 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2009, 02:01 AM   #1
dina
Member
 
Location: israel

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 34
Default blat vs. blast

Hello,
As I was advised here I tried blat instead of lst and I was really surprised. For example I checked a 1500 bp contig, and while blast found only very partial hit (about 300 bp), blat found a 99% hit to the whole contig. So.. shouldn't I trust blast? how this can be explained?
Thank you!!!!
dina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 06:18 AM   #2
nickloman
Senior Member
 
Location: Birmingham, UK

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 356
Default

BLAST filter on?
nickloman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 08:27 AM   #3
Zigster
(Jeremy Leipzig)
 
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 116
Default

BLAT is much more "splicey" than BLAST

we'd have to see your output to make a call
__________________
--
Jeremy Leipzig
Bioinformatics Programmer
--
My blog
Twitter
Zigster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 08:36 AM   #4
nickloman
Senior Member
 
Location: Birmingham, UK

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 356
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zigster View Post
BLAT is much more "splicey" than BLAST
Yeah - I'd expect the results to be the other way round from that described typically (i.e. lots of separate alignments from BLAT, one big one in BLAST)
nickloman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 02:31 PM   #5
lh3
Senior Member
 
Location: Boston

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 693
Default

BLAST has this X-dropoff. If the alignment has a long gap or a long masked region (if you are not using -F F), blast will split it into two alignments. Actually if you apply -F F and chain the blast result, I guess you should get better alignment than blat.
lh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 02:43 AM   #6
dina
Member
 
Location: israel

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 34
Default blast vs. blat-continued

I tried the blast with and without the filter and the result was the same; for a 1500 bp contig blast finds only the last 300 bp (this is the only hit) while blat finds the whole contig,,,
dina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 02:57 AM   #7
nickloman
Senior Member
 
Location: Birmingham, UK

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 356
Default

Sounds a bit strange particularly if there is 99% nucleotide identity as you say.

Why not post up the BLAST and BLAT reports?
nickloman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 03:52 AM   #8
dina
Member
 
Location: israel

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 34
Default blast

I now noticed that if I do blsat through the viewmapper of the ncbi I receive the same result as in blat ( the whole contig from existent sequencing data), but if I blast via the regular blast I receive only the annotated region which is only the end of my contig. Now I'm tatally confused.So, if I blast from
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/genome/s...cgi?taxid=9606
or from
http://blast.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Blast....TYPE=BlastHome
the results are different...
dina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 08:10 AM   #9
dina
Member
 
Location: israel

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 34
Default refseq genomic vs.nr/nt

ok, I understood why it happens. It depends if the database is refseq_genomic or nr/nt. when I use nr/nt only a small region of the contig is found. When I use refseq genomic, the whole contig receives a hit, as in blat.
What is more correct to do then? I am interested to find an integrated virus. So, I have the data from the sequencing a genome (the reads and the contigs). Should I blast them with refseq genomic or nr/nt?
dina is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO