No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem with low-diversity barcodes on Hi-Seq

Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to NGS but I will try my best to explain my problem. My group has recently sent out ddRAD Seq libraries for sequencing on a Hi-Seq 2000 platform. Yesterday, we were contacted and told that after running 3 lanes of our samples, the platform's pass filter returned 0 usable reads, despite the cluster density being normal. They also told us another group had samples on the same flow cell and that they had good results, meaning the errors probably stems from our library preparation.

The only thing we can think of that would cause this is a slight deviation we recently implemented in our protocol. Without realizing it, all of the indexes we ligated to our samples are of the same nucleotide length, and they are all followed by the same restriction enzyme cut site. Basically, nucleotides 6 to 10 in the first read are identical in all of our samples. We are concerned that this might be causing our problems as the platform is known to have issues with low-diversity sequences, especially when they are at the start of the read.

I have read various threads about the use of high concentrations of PhiX to spike libraries, but people seem to have various success with this method. It is unfortunately too late for us to redo our libraries as well, and we do not have any other samples to submit that they could spike our DNA with.

I have never used this platform myself, but I remember reading somewhere that is possible to perform chemistry-only (with no imaging) cycles on the Hi-Seq. Since we do not need nucleotides 6-10 in our reads (as they are all identical), I was wondering if it would be possible to program the machine to perform chemistry-only cycles during cycles 6-10. My thinking was that we would end up with enough nucleotide diversity in the reads, and hopefully everything would go through the pass filter.