SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Illumina/Solexa



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illumina amplicon sequencing and singletons v_kisand Bioinformatics 0 09-15-2015 11:57 PM
Any experience with amplicon sequencing of MHC loci on Illumina? jstefka Illumina/Solexa 0 10-18-2013 01:12 AM
ISSR amplicon sequencing on Illumina bentitus3 Introductions 0 04-20-2013 08:33 AM
Massive parallel amplicon sequencing on Illumina GA Khen Khermesh General 3 07-09-2010 05:44 AM
Amplicon sequencing on Illumina GA II? timread Illumina/Solexa 1 06-03-2009 05:13 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2016, 02:46 AM   #1
imendez
Junior Member
 
Location: London

Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 5
Default One amplicon sequencing in Illumina

Dear all!

I want to sequence only one amplicon using Illumina platforms (I know that the deep is going to be crazy). I have very little experience on using this kind of platforms. Does anyone have experience on doing this? Does anyone know with protocol should I follow? Any hints and advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!
imendez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2016, 12:16 PM   #2
Bukowski
Senior Member
 
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 354
Default

Why did you post this in the Ion Torrent section then?

Why do you need an NGS approach for this?

Low diversity libraries (and this is the lowest possible diversity) are not the greatest fun to work with on Illumina platforms.
Bukowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 05:48 AM   #3
NextGenSeq
Senior Member
 
Location: USA

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 482
Default

If he's trying to detect extremely low amounts of a mutant it may make sense.

I think the only way to do this is to amplify the region of interest with several sets of primers which give varying lengths of amplicons. It's not a single amplicon then though.
NextGenSeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 06:40 AM   #4
thermophile
Senior Member
 
Location: CT

Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 233
Default

Single amplicon-as in 16S? Regardless, the primer design template from this paper should work well for any target gene (check for hairpins, check seq temp, etc). Plan on running a lot of phiX and underclustering

http://aem.asm.org/content/79/17/511...0-b631ab573369
thermophile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 12:51 PM   #5
lxkx
Junior Member
 
Location: CA

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Default

If you are doing one amplicon and not plan to do it again. It is probably easier to find someone around and spike in your sample with their run.

The 16s protocol is a good reference if you want to build your own design, at least that is where I started. Low diversity is not an issue at all on Miseq. I have been doing 2-3 amplicons for my project frequently.
lxkx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 05:55 AM   #6
jtotheulie
Member
 
Location: Boston

Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 12
Default

If I have 16s, 18s, and its amplicons from 170 different samples and I want to do deep sequencing on MiSeq, what would be the best way to go about this?

I understand that MiSeq has an easier time sequencing low diversity libraries with V3 kit.

I want this to be cheap as possible.

How should I barcode and lib prep the samples.

How should I barcode and lip prep samples if I find they are at a low quant.
jtotheulie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO