SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > Sample Prep / Library Generation



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Paired end library, 3kb woes Coyk 454 Pyrosequencing 18 10-25-2012 11:07 PM
RNA-seq libraries - double peak after size selection MLog Sample Prep / Library Generation 23 03-08-2012 10:22 AM
Size selection of ChIP-Seq library OptimusBrien Sample Prep / Library Generation 7 02-22-2012 12:18 PM
Paired End Library Size Selection GeCKo 454 Pyrosequencing 2 11-16-2010 07:06 AM
double AMPure size selection Bjorn Sample Prep / Library Generation 0 10-09-2010 02:36 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2010, 09:21 PM   #1
H5N1
Junior Member
 
Location: Geelong, Australia

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Question Double AMPure size selection in Titanium 3kb span paired end library

In the Paired End Library manual 3kb span (Oct. 2009 version), step 3.11 final library size selection, there is a bouble AMPure size selection on amplified paired end library. I understand the first ampure removes the larger fragment and the second ampure remove the small fragment in order to generate a sharp peak around 500 bp. But I couldn't understand the ratio it uses in the second ampure.

Based on AMPure beads titration, if the PE cutoff value is 0.7, x=70ul. I add 70ul AMpure beads to 100ul PCR product. At this ratio (0.7x), larger fragments (i.e. >600 bp) will bind to ampure bead. Supernatant contains everything <600 bp will be ampured for a second time to remove smaller fragment (let's say <500 bp). My question is on the second AMPure selection. Continue with my example, the supernatant of the 1st AMPure is 170ul, then I add 100ul EB, the total volume is 270ul. How much AMPure is required? Y=X+20=70+20=90ul. 90ul AMPure to 270ul DNA, the AMPure ratio is 0.33x. At such low ratio, how can DNA around 500bp bind to the AMPure beads? Remember at the titration, the ratio tested are between 0.5x to 1X. Even at 0.5x, 500bp bind is mostly removed.

Hope to get some answers soon. Many thanks!
H5N1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 08:38 PM   #2
H5N1
Junior Member
 
Location: Geelong, Australia

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Default I know where I am wrong!

Now, I understand where my calculation is wrong. Actually, the ratio of my second AMPure is at 0.8x, not 0.33x. I forgot that in the 170ul supernatant from the first AMPure step, it already contains a portion of 70ul AMPure buffer. What plays the role in size selection is not AMPure beads, but it's buffer. In the second AMpure step, 90 ul plus the 70ul that aleady in, is 160ul. All the non AMPure portion is 100+100=200ul. So the ratio is at 160/200=0.8X
H5N1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 08:14 PM   #3
nextgen
Member
 
Location: East Coast

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 26
Default

How much DNA do you recover after two rounds of size selection?
nextgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 02:58 PM   #4
H5N1
Junior Member
 
Location: Geelong, Australia

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Smile

Hi, I've only done one batch of eight Titanium 3kb paired end library. The yield after double AMPure selection is around 10 ng(most between 9 to 13ng, one extremely low, only 3ng), which is measured by Quant-iT dsDNA HS assay and is pretty low. The PCR product is aound 300 ng, but it might contain the primer dimer.

I knew my library prep has two potential isssues that result in low yield.
1. circularization adaptor ligation might be less optimal.
2. cre recombinase binding issue.

I also noticed after the 2nd AMPure, increasing the EB incubation time/vortex thoroughly would improve the yield.

Btw, I didn't do single strand selection on the lowest yield library (3ng one) since I worry I won't get enough ss library for quantitation. I used the ds library in emPCR and sequencing. The results is pretty good. Personal opinion, without AB adaptor selection, the double strand library works equally well as single strand library. library with AA or BB adaptors shouldn't interfere with the sequencing. Perhaps that's the reason why AB adaptor selection is omitted in Rapid library prep.

Last edited by H5N1; 03-28-2010 at 06:58 PM.
H5N1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 10:32 AM   #5
nextgen
Member
 
Location: East Coast

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 26
Default

-----------------

Last edited by nextgen; 05-04-2010 at 05:41 PM.
nextgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 10:34 AM   #6
nextgen
Member
 
Location: East Coast

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 26
Default

-------------

Last edited by nextgen; 05-04-2010 at 05:41 PM.
nextgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO