Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• samtools converting sam>bam

Hi, Im completely new to analysis of seq data. Additionally, am completely new to using code of any kind so its all a bit of a struggle....

I've been provided with mapped sequencing files in .sop format from BGI (ChIP-seq). All I want to do for now is be able to view a file in IGV... So far I've used a perl script to convert the .sop to a .sam. I tried opening the .sam in IGV but it said it needs to be indexed and wouldn't open. Aside from this others have suggested converting to bam as this would be a more manageable file size. I've downloaded samtools and think I have this running. I've put my .sam file into the samtools folder and used the following command

$ view -b -S file.sam > file.bam

But keep getting

Vim: Warning: Output is not to a terminal

After which the terminal locks up and I have to close it.....

Any help or other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.....

samtools converting sam>bam

The command should be

Code:
    $ samtools view -b -S file.sam > file.bam
    Then you will need to use

Code:
    $ samtools sort file.bam file-sorted
    followed by

Code:
    $ samtools index  file-sorted.bam
    in order to get an indexed file.

If you just type

Code:
    $ samtools
    or samtools followed by the name of one of the samtools commands, you will get a few lines of help giving the correct syntax for that command,

Comment

Still not working

Thank you so much for your help. I tried this but it comes up with the error:

-bash: samtools: command not found

I think I might have done something wrong when I installed samtools...... (I really am a bit out of my depth here). I downloaded the samtools-0.1.19.tar file, expanded it and managed to compile it using the 'make' command (I had to download xcode for mac before this would work..).