SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > RNA Sequencing



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TCGA controlled data access svural Bioinformatics 1 12-13-2016 01:56 PM
new usage of SRA toolkit/ SRA archive data download Retro Bioinformatics 7 08-20-2015 02:05 PM
TCGA data access mathew Bioinformatics 1 03-27-2014 09:51 AM
is it possible to analyze NGS data without access to a server???? vifehe General 8 09-22-2013 12:10 PM
Open access sequencing data gabbagabba General 1 04-17-2012 09:17 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-24-2017, 07:30 PM   #1
atonidas
Member
 
Location: Korea

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 15
Default Cannot use SRA data access in HISAT2

everytime I try to run this command, i got this error :
Code:
$ hisat2 -p 8 --dta -x chrX_data/indexes/chrX_tran --sra-acc ERR188245 –S ERR188245_chrX.sam
hisat2-align-s: unrecognized option '--sra-acc'
so that I follow this instruction and download ngs-sdk.1.3.0-linux.tar.gz
Code:
"For the support of SRA data access in HISAT2, please download and install the NCBI-NGS toolkit."
HTML Code:
http://ftp-trace.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sra/ngs/1.3.0/ngs-sdk.1.3.0-linux.tar.gz
After extract and follow the instruction of this ngs-sdk.1.3.0-linux.tar.gz, I got this message :
Code:
~/RNAseq/tools/ngs-sdk.1.3.0-linux$ cd share
~/RNAseq/tools/ngs-sdk.1.3.0-linux/share$ make
make: uname: Command not found
make: true: Command not found
/home/atonidas/RNAseq/tools/ngs-sdk.1.3.0-linux/share/Makefile.config:53: recipe for target 'ncbi-headers' failed
make: *** [ncbi-headers] Error 127
Did I make something wrong? please advice, thank you so much

Last edited by atonidas; 05-24-2017 at 10:03 PM.
atonidas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 03:32 AM   #2
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,344
Default

Are you doing this in MingW? If so use real linux since you installed it.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 05:23 AM   #3
atonidas
Member
 
Location: Korea

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenoMax View Post
Are you doing this in MingW? If so use real linux since you installed it.
nope, I did not do that in MinW, I did that in terminal of Linux.
atonidas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 05:29 AM   #4
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,344
Default

Then why are common unix commands like "uname" not found?

Can you look in /bin to see if the uname and true commands are there? Also make sure /bin is in your $PATH.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 12:29 AM   #5
atonidas
Member
 
Location: Korea

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenoMax View Post
Then why are common unix commands like "uname" not found?

Can you look in /bin to see if the uname and true commands are there? Also make sure /bin is in your $PATH.
I set /home/atonidas/bin as my $PATH and I did installed all of my tools in there but there is no uname and true commands in that folder.

I have just installed ubuntu for 2 days and this is the first time of my life using this OS so that I really have no idea why common unix commands like "uname" are not there.
atonidas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 03:28 AM   #6
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,344
Default

I am referring to /bin (which is the system bin not the one in your home directory). Can you check that directory?
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 04:52 AM   #7
atonidas
Member
 
Location: Korea

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 15
Default

I just checked the computer/bin directory, and there are uname and true command in here. it's here.
atonidas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 05:08 AM   #8
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,344
Default

So is that /bin directory in your $PATH. It normally should be (unless you changed the $PATH drastically). Put that directly back in there, if it is not present.
Code:
 export PATH=$PATH:\bin
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 11:19 PM   #9
atonidas
Member
 
Location: Korea

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenoMax View Post
So is that /bin directory in your $PATH. It normally should be (unless you changed the $PATH drastically). Put that directly back in there, if it is not present.
Code:
 export PATH=$PATH:\bin
I am following your advice and I put everything back in there. Then I start compiling the "ngs-sdk.1.3.0-linux" again following the instruction and I got this message :

Code:
[email protected]:~/tool/ngs-sdk.1.3.0-linux/share$ make
c++   -g -o AlignSliceTest AlignSliceTest.cpp -L/usr/local/ngs/ngs-sdk/lib64/ -L/usr/local/ngs/ngs-sdk/lib64 -lncbi-ngs-c++ -lngs-c++ -lngs-bam-c++ -lncbi-ngs-c++ -lncbi-vdb-static -lngs-adapt-c++ -lpthread -ldl -lm 
AlignSliceTest.cpp:28:31: fatal error: ngs-bam/ngs-bam.hpp: No such file or directory
compilation terminated.
Makefile:84: recipe for target 'AlignSliceTest' failed
make: *** [AlignSliceTest] Error 1
I already add library directory to my LD_LIBRARY_PATH as instructed, but I still got the same message. I am not sure what happen
atonidas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2017, 10:29 AM   #10
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,344
Default

Perhaps you have a corrupted/incomplete download of the software. Can you re-download and try again?
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO