SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DEXSeq - more than two different conditions yylilly RNA Sequencing 22 04-25-2019 08:00 PM
differential methylation region analysis without replicated zinky Bioinformatics 5 04-01-2013 11:58 PM
Is more than two conditions possible in DESEQ? greener RNA Sequencing 5 05-09-2011 03:10 PM
PCR conditions for PE adapters Luke Illumina/Solexa 3 03-02-2011 08:48 AM

Old 03-20-2014, 04:13 AM   #1
IsBeth

Question Looking for replicated conditions

Hello! I'm a newbie and I'm trying to write a function which can read how much replicated conditions there are in an experimental design in a given case. For example, if I have a design (for example an input like a data.frame) like the following:

sample condition
1 C1.sam A
2 C2.sam A
3 C2.sam A
4 Infect1.sam B
5 Infect2.sam B
6 Infect3.sam B

How can I access the number of replicates? (perhaps some function similar to apply?) Cause obviously there are three replicates called "A" and three replicates called "B", but I donīt know how to store this in a variable, so I can work with that information later on the script.

Thanks and sorry for my beginner's English
IsBeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 04:26 AM   #2
dpryan
Devon Ryan

It sort of depends on how you want to use things later on. If the dataframe is called "d", then:

Code:
table(d)
That will give you a table with the conditions as names and counts as values. In general, though, you can just "~d$condition" or use model.matrix.
dpryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 04:36 AM   #3
IsBeth

Thank u dpryan. The table-function worked =)

What if I wanted to use a function like that with my counts, not with my design table? A data frame like this for example:

Control1 Control2 Control3 Infect1 Infect2 Infect3
4 34 23 12 2 33
6 14 15 17 32 22