No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• An anxious Msc student doing a splice-junction tools research project

Hi all,

Nice to meet you all. I was so glad when I first knew of this amazing forum.

I am a msc student from HK. I started my research project related to splice-junction tools a month ago, which is absolutely beyond my ability cause I am not familiar with Linux at all... ( From secondary school to undergraduate I was studying biochem)

I will need to hand in my paper at mid of May........, hopefully can learn important skills and knowledge related to splice-junction tools from friends in this forum. at an impossible rate

Is there any friends working on splice-junction tools here? It will be my great pleasure to be your friend. Most of my real life friends are having biochem background, so I am lonely in doing bioinformatics work. This forum will likely be my most important sorce of help in my research project.
    Last edited by kanewong; 04-06-2013, 07:38 AM.

Hi,

I know that feeling, I've gone straight from being a cellular biologist to doing my PhD in pure NGS data analysis, minimal Linux or coding experience prior.

It would help to know what data you are analysing splicing on? E.g. do you have RNA-Seq data, or just looking at reference genomes? What are you actually trying to learn from your data? The tools will be different depending on this.

Comment

Originally posted by rjohnp View Post
      Hi,

I know that feeling, I've gone straight from being a cellular biologist to doing my PhD in pure NGS data analysis, minimal Linux or coding experience prior.

It would help to know what data you are analysing splicing on? E.g. do you have RNA-Seq data, or just looking at reference genomes? What are you actually trying to learn from your data? The tools will be different depending on this.
      Hi rjohnp, yap so many pain entering a dry lab after working so many years in a wet lab