SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > 454 Pyrosequencing



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello - I use to think I was good with a computer Jon_Keats Introductions 83 08-26-2015 04:16 PM
HP Z400 computer issues? suefo 454 Pyrosequencing 0 09-22-2011 05:21 AM
Computer for running GS Junior Software Martin Mikkelsen 454 Pyrosequencing 7 01-03-2011 04:37 PM
Computer hardware requirements Najim Bioinformatics 25 04-30-2010 04:46 PM
Which Computer to Buy? polsum Bioinformatics 7 08-04-2009 09:48 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2011, 07:09 PM   #1
SABC
Junior Member
 
Location: Western Australia

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Default runAnalysisFilter on GS Junior computer

I have been unable to get the runAnalysisFilter command working on the computer that runs our GS Junior.

Has anybody successfully run this (pg 20 of the 454 Sequencing System Software Manual, v2.5 Part B) on a computer that is attached to a Junior with default software set-up?

(I have seen posts about Flex results and GS Junior results reanalyzed, but it isn't specified whether the runAnalysisFilter commands were carried out on an attached or stand-alone computer and whether Flex or GS Junior software was used for the reanalysis).

Thanks
SABC
SABC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 09:17 PM   #2
ulz_peter
Senior Member
 
Location: Graz, Austria

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 219
Default

How did you use the command?
ulz_peter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 11:27 PM   #3
SABC
Junior Member
 
Location: Western Australia

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Default

As far as I am aware exactly as written in the 454 Sequencing System Software manual, v2.5 part B on page 20 (except that I added a space between the runAnalysisFilter and the --pipe as the manual has a typo).

Briefly, navigate to the relevant D_fullProcessing folder, open a command line and use the gsRunProcessor --template=filterOnly > filterTemplate.xml command to generate the quality filter template xml file (left it unmodified to prevent errors creeping in)

went up to the parent R folder and used
runAnalysisFilter --pipe=filterTemplate.xml D_fullProcessing

command. I also tried running the command with absolute paths specified, checking at each point that the names were typed correctly by tabbing to complete them.

gsRunProcessorManager launched gsRunProcessor and the xml file was briefly accessed (at least the time stamp was updated according to stat command) but the gsRunProcessorManager.log file in /var/log showed an error message about the pipe being unknown.

I just want to confirm that it is possible to get it to work on the GS Junior attendant PC before spending any more time on it.
SABC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 06:21 AM   #4
suefo
Member
 
Location: Ann Arbor, MI

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 36
Default runAnalysisFilter on GS Junior computer

This should only take 2 steps (see attached jpg)/
Attached Images
File Type: jpg runFilterAnalysis.jpg (65.6 KB, 25 views)
suefo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 05:25 PM   #5
SABC
Junior Member
 
Location: Western Australia

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Default

After 2 months I finally managed to convince Roche to send me some files so that I could compare them with mine and it turns out that there is an error in the XML templates exported by my system.

Of all things, it is a comment in the XML templates, "--pipe=", that breaks the XML file. When edited to read "pipe=" instead as per the file tech support sent me, the runAnalysisFilter works like a charm.

This must be a known bug, probably with a known patch, as the templates exported by the tech support computer are fine.

In case it is relevant to other peoples' systems, ours was installed in August 2010 and we had the Ebox replaced in October 2010. gsRunProcessor version is 2.5 without patch 1.

Last edited by SABC; 08-18-2011 at 06:23 PM.
SABC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 03:44 AM   #6
suefo
Member
 
Location: Ann Arbor, MI

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 36
Default

Our EBox went last week from the machine we got in March. Now the valve block has gone.
suefo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 03:22 AM   #7
ganga.jeena
Member
 
Location: INDIA

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 15
Default

Dear SABC,
I need a refernce paramter filtering for 454 Data.
Can you mail me a copy of filterTemplate.xml pre and post changes .
I will be very thankful for the same.
Regards,
Ganga Jeena
ganga.jeena is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
run analysis filter

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO