SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > RNA Sequencing



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tophat seq length qual length mismatch error epi Bioinformatics 3 09-10-2012 01:43 AM
beginning of quality values record not found & qual length () differs from seq length papori Bioinformatics 1 07-09-2012 12:25 PM
Changing the read length after the run had started hfaoro SOLiD 1 06-27-2011 11:18 AM
samtools view error: CIGAR and sequence length are inconsistent (tophat/bowtie) glacierbird Bioinformatics 2 06-29-2010 01:58 AM
Run maq on solexa data with simulated qual scores AnamikaDarwin Bioinformatics 0 05-22-2009 10:52 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-17-2012, 06:53 PM   #1
HSV-1
Member
 
Location: asia

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 38
Default qual length error when run tophat

Hi, All,
I am using tophat to process RNA-seq data from Illumunia genome analyzer IIx. I get the error when I treat one in a fastq data set while the other one in the same dataset is fine. I use the same parameter. I really don't undertant why! Could anyone help? Error is below(I have put --solex--qual parameter in my command line.) :

[2012-07-17 19:25:28] Beginning TopHat run (v2.0.4)
-----------------------------------------------
[2012-07-17 19:25:28] Checking for Bowtie
Bowtie 2 not found, checking for older version..
Bowtie version: 0.12.8.0
[2012-07-17 19:25:28] Checking for Samtools
Samtools version: 0.1.13.0
[2012-07-17 19:25:28] Checking for Bowtie index files
[2012-07-17 19:25:28] Checking for reference FASTA file
[2012-07-17 19:25:28] Generating SAM header for mm9
format: fastq
quality scale: solexa33 (reads generated with GA pipeline version < 1.3)
[2012-07-17 19:27:10] Reading known junctions from GTF file
[2012-07-17 19:27:22] Preparing reads
[FAILED]
Error running 'prep_reads'
Error: qual length (0) differs from seq length (36) for fastq record SRR390298.!
HSV-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 02:54 PM   #2
Richard Barker
Member
 
Location: Madison wisconsin

Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 47
Default

I'm having a similar issue, one of my files worked fine then when i tried the next i got this error...
Error: qual length (121) differs from seq length (87) for fastq record !

The fastq files were unzipped and then had the first 15 bases trimmed off, could this have caused the quality score to differ from the sequence length?
Richard Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
qual length, rna-seq, tophat

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO