No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Installing Samtools on MacOS

Hi,

I'm trying to install samtools on my Mac (OS X 10.6.8). I downloaded samtols-0.2.1.18tar.bz2 and unzipped it on my desktop. Then in terminal, I entered that directory and typed "make". It says "command not found".

I saw that zlib is required, so I also downloaded that and put the samtools into that directory and tried typing "make", which gave the same "command not found" message.

I'm new to unix but have successfully installed and used other programs (Bowtie, etc.), so I'm not sure why I'm having such problems with Samtools.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Have you installed Apple's Xcode? That provides gcc, make, etc. Get it free from the Apple App Store (big download).

Comment

I have not installed Xcode, as I was told it wasn't was required for samtools. Is it necessary? I did a quick search at the Apple App store and it seems that only Xcode 4, which isn't compatible with my OS X 10.6.8, is freely available. Do you know where I could find the appropriate version of Xcode if I need it?

Thanks!

Comment

Xcode for OSX 10.6 is $5, I think. Its free if you have OSX 10.7. You can still download Xcode 4 for 10.6, and you will need it for samtools or any program that requires a "make" command.

Comment

Originally posted by kriskris View Post
          I have not installed Xcode, as I was told it wasn't was required for samtools. Is it necessary? I did a quick search at the Apple App store and it seems that only Xcode 4, which isn't compatible with my OS X 10.6.8, is freely available. Do you know where I could find the appropriate version of Xcode if I need it?

Thanks!
          It used to be on the DVD that came with your Mac.

Comment

Originally posted by kriskris View Post

Thanks!