No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help Needed to Interpret DESeq Plots

Hi,

I am new to RNA-Seq analysis. I have recently tried out DESeq packages and followed the protocol strictly.

The Bioconductor project aims to develop and share open source software for precise and repeatable analysis of biological data. We foster an inclusive and collaborative community of developers and data scientists.

I have produced a MA-Plot that looks like this. Is my MA-Plot normal because most MA-Plot I saw was actually symmetrical!! But, mine is out of shape.

How can I interpret this plot? Is it meaningful?

Yikes! I can't say I've ever seen that in an MA plot. I would be hesitant to go any further with the analysis before finding out what is causing the graph to look like that. Have you opened the alignments in IGV (or similar) to see if things look reasonable and that samples show similarity? Did one of your groups have quality issues?

Comment

This usually happens if you have an unbalanced design (number of treatment samples is not equal to number of control samples), or if the sequencing depth differs strongly between treatment and control libraries.

You can go ahead, but you have to bear in mind that lack of balance can cause artifacts in downstream analysis.

Also: When posting a question here, please give sufficient details! At least always describe the nature of your data, the design of your experiment, and the biological question you aim to address.

Comment

Hi Anders,

I believe that the sequencing depth differs between the samples (A and B)

Library A1 : 36515699 paired-end reads
        Library A2 : 25049861 paired-end reads
        Library B1 : 40222802 paired-end reads
        Library B2 : 15446770 paired-end reads

Library A1 and B1 are generated at the same time, while Library A2 and B2 are generated at the same time.

This sample is Mus Musculus.