SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > Sample Prep / Library Generation



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ampure purification of illumina libraries greigite Sample Prep / Library Generation 23 09-13-2016 06:15 AM
Ampure XP size selection problem saw9 Sample Prep / Library Generation 9 10-07-2013 05:57 AM
Ampure magnetic bead purification -- how does it work ? Christine90 Sample Prep / Library Generation 2 11-19-2012 05:16 AM
Automated AMPure Purification Anthony.287 454 Pyrosequencing 1 08-21-2012 12:59 PM
Agencourt Ampure purification kit - exp date ntremblay Sample Prep / Library Generation 3 03-06-2012 04:41 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-25-2014, 05:09 AM   #1
JanaSEQ
Junior Member
 
Location: Estonia

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Default Problem with AMPure purification

Hi,
Maybe someone has faced the same problem, as I am:

I am using Agencourt AMPure XP to clean my PCR-amplicons from PCR-reaction mixture. I am using AMPure at 1x sample volume, to get rid of all the primers.
In the last few months I started noticing, that the AMPure magnetic beads do not pellet properly on the tube wall after the addition of Elution Buffer (10 mM Tris-HCl, pH 8,5). The DNA concentrations of amplicons also decreased. I tried to elute my amplicons in MQ water and it worked well, I also obtained a bit higher DNA concentrations. But I am still wondering, what is wrong with the elution using EB. I checked my Ethanol and tried to use 80% instead of 70%, it did not change anything. I also tried to use different lab plastic, magnet plate and ordered fresh EB and AMPure. Nothing worked and I still got this „haze“ instead of properly pelleted beads.

Maybe someone could help me, what am I doing wrong?
JanaSEQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 07:47 AM   #2
rnaeye
Member
 
Location: East Cost

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 79
Default

Are you using the same PCR polymerase/buffer. I know that having proteins like BSA in the sample causes haze during Ampure cleanup. I cannot explain why your problem disappears with MQ water though.
rnaeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 12:19 AM   #3
JanaSEQ
Junior Member
 
Location: Estonia

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Default

I am using Maxima HotStart PCR Master Mix. I tried to leave out ethanol purification steps (just to see, what happenes) and it worked - the haze was gone. But I can´t do that with my real samples..
JanaSEQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 07:01 PM   #4
bilyl
Member
 
Location: USA

Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JanaSEQ View Post
Hi,
Maybe someone has faced the same problem, as I am:

I am using Agencourt AMPure XP to clean my PCR-amplicons from PCR-reaction mixture. I am using AMPure at 1x sample volume, to get rid of all the primers.
In the last few months I started noticing, that the AMPure magnetic beads do not pellet properly on the tube wall after the addition of Elution Buffer (10 mM Tris-HCl, pH 8,5). The DNA concentrations of amplicons also decreased. I tried to elute my amplicons in MQ water and it worked well, I also obtained a bit higher DNA concentrations. But I am still wondering, what is wrong with the elution using EB. I checked my Ethanol and tried to use 80% instead of 70%, it did not change anything. I also tried to use different lab plastic, magnet plate and ordered fresh EB and AMPure. Nothing worked and I still got this „haze“ instead of properly pelleted beads.

Maybe someone could help me, what am I doing wrong?
The "haze" sometimes occurs if you incubate the bead mixture for too long. I've seen it a lot but only when I do "in-bead" enzymatic reactions and cleanup afterward with SPRI buffer (PEG/NaCl). I've also seen it if I overdry my beads. Maybe something to think about.
bilyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 11:48 PM   #5
JanaSEQ
Junior Member
 
Location: Estonia

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks bilyl!
I have tried different incubation times. I have also tried to elute amplicons right after I removed ethanol and also tried to let the beads dry completely, before I added the elution buffer. I did not notice any changes.
JanaSEQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 10:35 AM   #6
silviap
Junior Member
 
Location: Milan - Italy

Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Default

I' m using AMPure on a Beckman Platform for many years and I used water MQ as elution buffer without any problem. Are you using the original magnet plate?
silviap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 11:52 PM   #7
JanaSEQ
Junior Member
 
Location: Estonia

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Default

I am using DynaMag magnet plate (Life Technologies). I am not using MQ water, because sequencing company where we send our samples prefers PCR amplicons in Tris-HCl buffer.
JanaSEQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 08:48 AM   #8
dtm2451
Junior Member
 
Location: San Francisco, Ca

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
Default

I'm not certain what might be going on here, but if MQ seems to work for the elution, could you just elute in water and then dilute in elution buffer?
dtm2451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 12:09 AM   #9
JanaSEQ
Junior Member
 
Location: Estonia

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Thank you Dan (dtm2451)!

I will try this out.

But I still would like to know, what could have happned with the purification. My last idea is, that maybe it´s the hot weather, that causes such abnormalities (air conditioner in my lab does not work properly and it is up to 30C/86F) But i refrigirate Ampure (and then bring it to room temperature immediately before using) I also tried to refrigerate ethanol and elution buffer, unfortunately it did not help.
JanaSEQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 04:09 AM   #10
JanaSEQ
Junior Member
 
Location: Estonia

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Default

My problem seems to be gone now! During last few Ampure purifications I did not notice haze any more. I did not change anything and so I think the haze was a result of way too hot working conditions. Fortunately is summer over now!
JanaSEQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 07:41 AM   #11
dtm2451
Junior Member
 
Location: San Francisco, Ca

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
Default

My lab also gets fairly hot in the Summer due to inefficient AC. Perhaps that was the issue as I'm no longer having SPRI trouble either. I don't like the heat explanation... I really don't get why that would inhibit bead binding, but it might be true. Either way, I'm glad you are no longer having issues either!
dtm2451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 04:09 PM   #12
docphil
Junior Member
 
Location: Seattle WA

Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Default

My Lab uses AMPure beads at 0.7x to remove primer-dimer and any junk below our target after barcoding and final pooling for MiSEQ. We elute into TE and then run the eluted DNA through a QiaQuick spin column to remove any residual beads. You can also adjust the amount of EB you spin through the column if you need a higher DNA concentration. Might be a bit redundant but hopefully it helps!
docphil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ampure xp

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO