SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > Sample Prep / Library Generation



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gDNA fragmentation with Covaris arvi8689 Illumina/Solexa 2 12-12-2011 05:09 AM
size of overhang after sonication? comingme Illumina/Solexa 10 10-14-2011 08:45 AM
Yeast ChIP-seq; Sonication/Bioanalyzer question AaronS Sample Prep / Library Generation 1 01-14-2011 07:55 AM
Sonication bond cleavage Schoenbrau General 1 09-09-2010 01:49 PM
sonication? jazz Illumina/Solexa 17 04-13-2009 02:24 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2011, 08:27 PM   #1
singaporeseq
Member
 
Location: Singapore

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Default Sonication of non gDNA

Hello, I have a basic question. I am extracting samples that will be around 3.5 Mb and only done sonication on whole genome. Can I still use it with the smaller input or will I over fragment? Is enzymatic a better way to go?
Thanks
singaporeseq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 03:59 AM   #2
Wurstmensch
Junior Member
 
Location: Germany

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Are you using Covaris? I think it wouldn't be a problem because you can regulate many things with the settings of the machine. I myself sonicated fragments around 100 to 10 kb end ended in the library range (300bp) with the settings given by Covaris.
Wurstmensch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 06:30 AM   #3
bbeitzel
Member
 
Location: Ft. Detrick, MD

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 50
Default

Large DNAs will fragment during isolation, so after isolation your 3.5 Mb DNA will most likely have the same fragment size distribution as you would get from purifying larger genomes. There should be no difference in further fragmentation (Covaris, other sonication, etc.) between the two. So, short answer, you shouldn't need to change any conditions for fragmenting.

Where things get tricky is on the low end. In our hands, Covaris works pretty well with fragments as small as ~1 kb, but smaller than that and you start to run into problems. 400 bp amplicons really don't fragment at all in the Covaris. I'm sure there is a good biophysical explanation for this, but we have just seen this empirically.
bbeitzel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 07:32 AM   #4
singaporeseq
Member
 
Location: Singapore

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Yes, planning on using Covaris. Thanks so much for your help!
singaporeseq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 10:12 PM   #5
john_king
Junior Member
 
Location: United States

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Default

You may also want to try Fragmentase from NEB
john_king is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO