Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SRA files for use in MIRA3 assembler

Hi, i am new to bioinformatics and would greatly appreciate any guidance as I'm largly going at this alone.
    Essentially what I want to do is use MIRA3 to assemble some 454 EST data that I have downloaded from NCBI. It is in the full SRA format and I was planning on using the SRA toolkit (sff-dump) to convert it into SFF format before using sff_extract to create fastq and xml files for use in the main MIRA3 assembler.

Is this the best approach? I have tried using sff-dump but am told: my data is not supported while constructing formatter within short read archive module, and this is followed by my sra file directory. The sra toolkit seems to work in general as I have succesfully converted the sra files into fastq files.

Thanks in advance, seenstevo

Some of 454 is submitted to SRA as fastq. You will not be able to create sff files from this data.

Comment

Is there any special reason you want to go the sff_extract way instead of directly using the FASTQ files from the SRA?

Comment

@ srasdk. I have heard that some 454 are submitted as fastq however seeing as I was able to use the fastq-dump tool to apparently create fastq files which I was then able to view etc (having not been able to previously) I assumed they were not in fastq format. using the file command on the files tells me they are simply data files. not really sure what format they are in...?

Comment

@ BaCh. Following the MIRA3 guide to preparing 454 data it wants the fastq files for the sequence and quality and the xml file for clipping info. if my SRA data still contains lower case base calls and N's then do I still need to do the clipping as suggested by MIRA3? it seems to be a necessary file.