SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to use bambus for scaffolding? elisadouzi Bioinformatics 3 05-31-2013 03:07 PM
RNA-Seq: Scaffolding a Caenorhabditis nematode genome with RNA-seq. Newsbot! Literature Watch 0 10-29-2010 03:00 AM
Bambus mate file coldturkey Bioinformatics 7 10-16-2009 07:17 PM
Bambus coldturkey Bioinformatics 2 10-15-2009 06:51 AM
Instructions for scaffolding MIRA 454 contigs & 25 KB paired-end data with BAMBUS edge Bioinformatics 1 09-30-2009 02:04 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-15-2011, 07:23 AM   #1
shaohua.fan
Member
 
Location: konstanz

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Default Bambus for scaffolding big genome??

Hi,all,

I am using Bambus (version 2.33) for scaffolding our 1.1 G genome. Before using the Bambus for our data, I first tested the Bambus with the test data in the Bambus package and everything was fine.

However, Using Bambus for our data, it always crashed at the step 400, and reported that the Grommit script failed. Someone in the Abyss discuss group mentioned that Bambus is incapable of scaffolding genomes > 100 M. But, I am not sure this is the reason for our data?

My question is that dose any one has the experience of scaffolding big genome (here I mean >1 G bp genome) by Bambus?

Shaohua
shaohua.fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 11:18 AM   #2
fishinabarrel
Junior Member
 
Location: United States

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Sadly I am getting the same error with a genome in the 400 MB range.

Using only a subset of sequencing runs, I got wonderful scaffold outputs from bambus, measurably larger than output from sspace or Sopra. However, the over size was only a fraction of the genome.

But I too get the grommit script error when attempting the large contig datafile.
fishinabarrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 09:46 AM   #3
schamala
Junior Member
 
Location: Florida

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Hi Shaohua.fan,

Did you find any solution for the failure of Bambus version 2.33 for scaffolding larger geomes. I am getting failure at Grommit script too.

Thanks,
Sschamalla.
schamala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 09:41 AM   #4
dan
wiki wiki
 
Location: Cambridge, England

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 266
Default

I found bambus too painful to use, so I'd recommend sspace.

Can you post your usage pipeline here?

I'd recommend contacting the bambus (amos) mailing list with your questions:

http://sourceforge.net/mail/?group_id=134326
__________________
Homepage: Dan Bolser
MetaBase the database of biological databases.
dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO