SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
multithreaded GATK local realignment adaptivegenome Open Genomics Engine Project 1 08-30-2012 07:46 AM
GATK realignment HGENETIC Bioinformatics 17 08-28-2012 08:05 AM
FixMateInformation after GATK realignment MolecularToast Bioinformatics 6 07-24-2012 06:26 AM
Gatk multiSample realignment and recalibration seq_GA Bioinformatics 5 06-15-2011 01:02 AM
Local realignment using GATK and smra seq_GA Bioinformatics 28 01-17-2011 08:10 AM

Old 10-04-2012, 02:34 PM   #1
wzhangvv

Unhappy Help! about GATK realignment speed

Hi All,
I try to do SNP calling using GATK. This is my first time to do such things and I generated the work flow as follows. Everything went well till I was blocked by RealignerTargetCreator. It seemed to cost 15 days per sample! I don't know whether it was a normal speed with 300MB reference and 1GB bam file or not. Could anybody help me figure it out? I have 80 samples and obviously I don't have enough time to run this step.
Thanks for your time~!

My work flow (till RealignTargetCreator):
I used sga to do de novo assembly and I used the output file contigs.fa as reference.

bwa index -P contigs.fa -a bwtsw contigs.fa

bwa aln -t 4 contigs.fa R1.fq > R1.sai

bwa aln -t 4 contigs.fa R2.fq > R2.sai

bwa sampe contigs.fa R1.sai R2.sai R1.fq R2.fq > A.sam

samtools view -bST contigs.fa -o A_noRG.bam A.sam

java -Xmx20g -XX:PermSize=10g -XX:MaxPermSize=10g -jar /usr/share/picard/lib/AddOrReplaceReadGroups.jar INPUT=A_noRG.bam OUTPUT=A_std.bam SORT_ORDER=coordinate RGID=lib1_A RGLB=AA RGPL=illumina RGSM=lib1_A RGPU=none VALIDATION_STRINGENCY=LENIENT

java -Xmx20g -XX:PermSize=10g -XX:MaxPermSize=10g -jar /usr/share/picard/lib/MarkDuplicates.jar INPUT=A_std.bam OUTPUT=A_std_noduplicates.bam METRICS_FILE=A_std.duplicate_matrics REMOVE_DUPLICATES=true ASSUME_SORTED=true VALIDATION_STRINGENCY=LENIENT