SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
comparing Bowtie/DESeq and Top-Hat/Cufflinks results maryb Bioinformatics 5 03-13-2012 08:46 AM
coverageBed usagi Bioinformatics 1 01-23-2012 12:13 PM
coverageBed: command not found ibn.adam RNA Sequencing 6 10-29-2011 03:24 PM
BEDTools..coverageBed query Siva Bioinformatics 2 08-18-2010 12:10 PM
coverageBed question jlfmssm Bioinformatics 2 07-01-2010 03:58 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-23-2012, 08:11 PM   #1
yuchioj
Junior Member
 
Location: Pennsylvania

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Default coverageBed giving unordered results at top of list

Hi all

So I wanted to use the following command to get the coverage of each exon of my exon sequencing data:

coverageBed -a <a.bed> -b <b.bed>

where a.bed is the one I got from my exon seq data and b.bed is from refseq from ucsc (both are focusing on one chromosome).

It gave a result as shown in the manual but the top part of the result list (~50 rows) are randomly picked out from the ordered positions from the refseq. Some of them are also duplicated in several lines. The rest part of the list looked all good.

Any idea why?

Thanks!
yuchioj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 01:03 AM   #2
dariober
Senior Member
 
Location: Cambridge, UK

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yuchioj View Post
Hi all

So I wanted to use the following command to get the coverage of each exon of my exon sequencing data:

coverageBed -a <a.bed> -b <b.bed>

where a.bed is the one I got from my exon seq data and b.bed is from refseq from ucsc (both are focusing on one chromosome).

It gave a result as shown in the manual but the top part of the result list (~50 rows) are randomly picked out from the ordered positions from the refseq. Some of them are also duplicated in several lines. The rest part of the list looked all good.

Any idea why?

Thanks!
Hi,
Can you post the first ~100 lines fo your output?

I'm not sure in which order coveregeBed prints out the output, in any case that can be easily fixed with something like (to sort by chromosome and position):

Code:
coverageBed -a <a.bed> -b <b.bed> > coverage.bed
sort -k1,1 -k2,2n -k3,3n coverage.bed > coverage.sorted.bed
The duplicate lines might be present in your b.bed file?

Dario
dariober is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 07:48 AM   #3
yuchioj
Junior Member
 
Location: Pennsylvania

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Hi Dario

Thanks for your reply. The output for the first several lines (is interestingly different from the output yesterday but still has the problems):

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/34105617/Scr...45.59%20AM.png

The lines in b.bed are not duplicated.

Thanks!

Yuchio
yuchioj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO