SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you download a FASTA sequence from NCBI Nucleotide onto a remote server? ehlin Bioinformatics 5 12-10-2018 10:34 AM
Lab7ís NGS Software is available for download Lab7 Systems Vendor Forum 1 09-19-2013 11:07 AM
Can one download a file from an FTP server unsing aspera? carmeyeii Bioinformatics 2 12-14-2012 07:27 AM
using blast+ for remote blasting rangel Bioinformatics 2 03-29-2012 02:30 PM
Stand Alone Blast Exclude without -remote tboothby Bioinformatics 1 02-04-2012 04:03 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2013, 07:29 AM   #1
mmmm
Senior Member
 
Location: UK

Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 131
Default software download on a remote server

how to install software to a remote server. I access the server from windows laptop using Putty and move folders/files to the server using WinScp-

Now, what are the steps that I should follow to download a software (for example, velvet http://www.ebi.ac.uk/~zerbino/velvet/) to the remote server
mmmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 07:37 AM   #2
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,975
Default

Log into the remote server. Do the following (but do check the manual info for wget/curl commands, i.e. $ man wget ) to download the velvet package.

or

Code:
$curl http://www.ebi.ac.uk/~zerbino/velvet/velvet_1.2.10.tgz (or replace with the actual link for whatever you are trying to download)
This is only a small part of the actual install process.

Since you do not seem to have administrative rights on the server it would save you a whole lot of trouble if you can request the administrator(s) to install whatever it is that you want to use.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 01:15 AM   #3
mmmm
Senior Member
 
Location: UK

Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 131
Default

thank you very much- velvet is now downloaded using:

$ wget http://www.ebi.ac.uk/~zerbino/velvet/velvet_1.2.10.tgz

then I tried to unzip it using:

$ tar -zxvf velvet_1.2.10.tgz

(and now I have velvet_1.2.10)_ a very simple question, how to use velvet now? (as it is my first time to install a software), I can easily use the already installed software via (module load software) but do not know how could I use velvet (which I have just installed as "module load velvet" dose not work??
mmmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 01:24 AM   #4
dpryan
Devon Ryan
 
Location: Freiburg, Germany

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3,480
Default

You'll make your life easier if you go through a tutorial on how to use Linux from the command line. In brief, though, you need to update the PATH with something like:

Code:
export PATH="$PATH:/path/to/the/directory/with/velvet"
There are other (better!) ways to do this (namely creating ~/bin, putting executables in there and then permanently adding that to your PATH by modifying .bashrc), but the above example is probably easier for a one-off use. BTW, "/path/to/the/directory/with/velvet" will need to be changed to the actual path to where velvet is installed, in case that wasn't apparent (it probably wasn't if you've never used Linux before ).
dpryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 01:33 AM   #5
rhinoceros
Senior Member
 
Location: sub-surface moon base

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 372
Default

Don't think that's going to do it as the manual implies that there are no binaries, but velvet has to be compiled first. mmmm, in general you have to read the manuals of the programs you intend to install/use. More often than not they tell you exactly what needs to be done..

http://www.ebi.ac.uk/~zerbino/velvet/Manual.pdf
__________________
savetherhino.org
rhinoceros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 01:43 AM   #6
dpryan
Devon Ryan
 
Location: Freiburg, Germany

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3,480
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhinoceros View Post
Don't think that's going to do it as the manual implies that there are no binaries, but velvet has to be compiled first. mmmm, in general you have to read the manuals of the programs you intend to install/use. More often than not they tell you exactly what needs to be done..

http://www.ebi.ac.uk/~zerbino/velvet/Manual.pdf
Suckage, I'd hoped that the OP had downloaded a package containing the binary.
dpryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 12:41 AM   #7
dpryan
Devon Ryan
 
Location: Freiburg, Germany

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3,480
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melisa Stewart View Post
I merely access any detailed idea about it but I think before software download on a remote server one need to First install Unified Remote Server on the related computer. This will allow the device to connect and communicate with the PC on the home network. This requires Windows and .NET Framework 4 as well.
The AI doesn't seem to have improved much.
dpryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 05:20 AM   #8
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,975
Default

Perhaps she is not from this galaxy .. it will take time.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 10:06 AM   #9
kmcarr
Senior Member
 
Location: USA, Midwest

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenoMax View Post
Perhaps she is not from this galaxy .. it will take time.
Do we need Jodie Foster to make "Contact"
kmcarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO